Passover Chocolate Mandelbrot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This tastes so much better than the store bought versions I grew up with. Very excited to have a new Passover staple. I took the suggestion to dry them out after slicing. I cut them about an inch thick and found I had to flip the cookies. They dried out for about 20 minutes on each side. I did not use the extra cinnamon and sugar as they were already sweet enough. Next time I don't think I will put the cinnamon and sugar on top. The other change was that I did not have matzah cake meal only matzah meal. So I ground up the matzah meal in my coffee grinder before adding it to the recipe and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Wow this recipe was the best. I just became a member so I can review this. I made this on Monday for the seder and it came out incredible. But mine was more like a cake and I loved it. I don't cook much but I made this and it was a huge hit. I just followed the recipe exactly it was great. Thanks for putting this on. I am going to make it again for next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I don't know if the photo is misleading or I did something incorrect, but I expected chocolate mandelbrot not regular mandelbrot with chocolate chips. While the end result was ok, I was disappointed after all the rave reviews. Also, 50-55 minutes cooking time burns the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Was so excited to get this in the oven, forgot to sprinkle sugar/cinnamon on top - didn't miss it!! YUM! AND you don't have to make these into logs, the dough is thick/heavy enough that you can shape them into any shape for fun. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I have just made this for the forthcoming Passover, but I doubt if it will last that long. I followed the directions exactly, sliced them and put them back in the oven for 10 minutes @ 250 degrees. and they really came out fantastic. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
An absolute hit with the family, definitely will be making this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Carr Ashkenazi
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this for my Jewish relatives during Passover and it was a HUGE hit. I had to make a second batch because the first one was gone in two days. I used semi-sweet chocolate chunks instead of chocolate chips, and didn't use nuts for allergy reasons (although I want to try them with almonds if I make this for a different crowd). I also did what many reviewers suggested, and let the loaves bake for about 35 min, then sliced, sprinkled with more cinnamon/sugar, and returned to the oven for about 10 min on each side. I wasn't sure they were crunchy enough at that point, so I let them sit in the warm oven after I turned it off for a bit. Similar to biscotti, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I also watched the time they baked, let them rest 1o min,sliced and baked on the side another 10 min. our friends,Jewish and non liked them so well I adapted them for year round enjoymenht- I use 3/4 c cornstarch for tme potato starch and 4 1/4-4/1/2 c flour for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These were really good. I also baked the 2 loaves, then sliced them after they baked for 55 minutes, sprinkled on more cinnamon sugar and then baked on each side for an additional 10 minutesper side. I made them for my Jewish friends for Passover. Everybody loved them. I will be making another batch tomorrow to keep! I am also going to try cranberries and white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States