Passover Chocolate Chip Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I've made other meringue recipes successfully, but these were chewy and seemed undercooked (although I left them in the oven overnight). They were not crisp nor light and airy. I felt there were too many chips in them also. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These were too salty, too sweet, and too chewy. They never dried out. And.... putting them into a turn-off 350 over browned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
These cookies were excellent!! Next time I will try using 1/2 cup sugar. I am looking forward to making them again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I love meringue - it has always been challenging for me, but this recipe was fool-proof for me. I have made them for 3 years now and each time I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very good and a great veriation on just regular cookies. They were very sweet and I used half the sugar I will use less sugar than that. I also just put a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I made these and followed the recipe exactly. I left them in the oven overnight but they were so chewy you could not eat them. I removed them from the oven, turned the oven back on and repeated the process again for 2 hours. This did the trick and they were nice and crisp. Way too salty though. Next time I will either leave the salt out or use only a dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These we very good and very easy to make. I also used butterscotch chips just for a little variety. After reading the other reviews, I baked these cookies for 15 minutes and THEN turned off the over and left them in overnight. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The eggs and sugar whipped up beautifully. I was nervous to add liquid so I used vanilla sugar instead of the vanilla. I also used less chocolate chips - maybe 3/4 cup. But the problem with it was that they did not harden properly. I left them in the oven overnight and they were still soft in the morning. So I turned the oven on to 200 and left it in there for an hour. Then I lowered the temp in the oven to 185 and left them in for another 45 minutes. At that point, the texture was right - they had hardened into that melt-in-your-mouth consistency that they are supposed to have. I was hoping that the leaving it in the oven thing would work because it makes for a very simple recipe - leaving it overnight, oven off, what could be easier and safer? But unfortunately this did not work. I will just have to keep looking for a way to bake meringues. At least I was able to salvage them by baking them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
These were very good. I am on a low-fat diet and was looking for a good meringue recipe. These were so easy to make and were better than the store bought kind. My friends said they tasted just like a chocolate chip cookie. I'm not sure about the other reviews but mine came out crisp and lite. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
A wonderful addition to the Passover table. A big hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States