Passover Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
These are definitely for the chocolate lovers. Very fudgy! I did have trouble with the bake time. At 30 minutes, it was still really jiggly, and at 35 minutes, my knife came out totally batter coated. I ended up baking them for about 45 minutes. The insides were very moist, but the top and sides came out very hard and as a result, crumbled when I cut them. Nevertheless, they tasted great and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Traci
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe is amazing they do not taste like they are for passover, I made these into cupcake's and they were to die for! I whipped the sugar and butter until it was very pale to incorporate more air to make it fluffy. as well as the ganache topping i whipped until it was cold making it like a piped icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I'm not Jewish, but I got this same recipe from a dear Jewish friend of mine. This brownie recipe is our family's favorite. We load up on the Manischewitz Cake Meal during Passover and make these INCREDIBLE brownies all year long!! We use Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the semi sweet squares. We use about 1/2 to 2/3 of the Nestle bag, depending on how rich you want them. Every time comes out perfect...never too sweet. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Way too rich and sweet (and I usually like things sweet). Tasted like you were eating frosting from a tub you purchased at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Don't tell my mom I think these are better than her recipe. Enjoy these with a glass of cold milk and life is very, very good. A couple of good brownie techniques also make these a standout: 1. Toast the walnuts first. 2. Add in about 1/2 tsp salt and maybe 1 tsp espresso powder/instant coffee to pick up the flavor. (This may also help the person who thought they were too sweet.) A DEFINITE make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Very sweet - great for kids. Easy to make. Maybe too sweet for adults, but kids couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! It waas so rich and chocolately! My whole family thinks that it is the greatest Passover item that they have ever tasted. These are one of the best brownies I ever made. I made them before Passover to try them and everyone wanted to eat them before Passover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
these were easy to make and so delicious! they were a huge hit at passover. I will definitely be making these again next year. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Good, but since this recipe calls for butter it must be served only at a dairy meal. If you use oil you could serve with meat or dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
good for passover food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States