Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this to practice the dessert for Seder night, and I was skeptical when I making this recipe. I had to press the "bottom" part of the batter into the pan, it was so thick! And when I took it out of the oven, it was very oily (what appeared like oil). I let it cool for a few hours, and when the boyfriend tasted it, he said it didn't taste like Pesach and he would've believed me if I had told him it wasn't! That's the highest compliment, seeing as he dreads Passover food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I made this recipe and accidently used cake meal. It is delicious. Hubby did a taste test. Happy to find a good holiday recipe. (It's in the freezer waiting for Passover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
My husband said the best passover dessert he has ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe was good for a Passover dish. I think I'll stick to my normal recipe for the rest of year. I did as many people suggested and doubled the batter. I don't think there would have been enough for the top if I didn't. The only other change I made was that I didn't have any brown sugar so I used white instead. Definitely a recipe to use next year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Definitely needed to use half the apples. It was a little heavy. Tasted ok with ice cream. I won’t make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for Passover this year and my family loved it. I decided to make it diabetic friendly since we have a few in the family who have to watch their sugar intake. I used Splenda in place of the white sugar and Splenda brown sugar in place of the Brown sugar! We topped it off with a dollop of sugar free whipped topping....Yummy! Thanks for a wonderful Passover friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was soooo good, people are still asking me about it. I made one for my boss to bring back home to NY and now I'm famous there for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a great Passover cake. A VERY nice change from the box mixes. After reading the other reviews, I used only five apples, and increased the batter to 1 1/2 times the original amount. We didn't have brown sugar, so I had to use regular sugar instead. I also added some raisins to the apple mixture. The entire family adored it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
The greatest apple cake ever. People did not believe that it was Kosher for Passover. I only used 3/4 of the top and extra cinnamon, came out more like apple crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe considering its a passover cake. It was very good and I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The apples were delicious. I only used 6 apples though and found that it was more than enough. :) thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States