Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a wonderful addition to my passover sweets. It came out wonderful and reminded me of an apple cake my mother use to make using flour. My only confusion was the picture of a round cake and the recipe stated to use a 9x13 rectangular pan. I used a cake pan and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Hello ... Did you mean cake meal rather than matzah meal? I used matzah meal. My cake looked like yours when it ws baked; however, it fell apart when I attempted to slice it, even after being cooled. Thank you for sharing it. Sincerely ... Malky :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This came out really yummy! I followed other reviewers' suggestions of doubling the batter and I atually broke up the recipe into 2 cakes (one for Seder and one for my husband to try at home before I served it to the family)! I baked them in an 8 in. square pan and a 9 in. springform. I also topped both cakes with a brown sugar crumble to make them look a little prettier. The secret to eliminating the bland taste of the matzo is the seasoning. I rarely measure cinnamon and nutmeg out (I know, big sin), I just eyeball a tbs. or so of Pumpkin Pie Spice which I think has the best flavor. I also couldn't find matzo cake meal in any stores, so I just put the matzo meal in the food processor and buzzed it until the texture was just about flour-like. This one's headed for the Passover recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed advice and doubled the dough. I can't say how it would have worked if I had followed directions exactly, but I can tell you that I wound up with a heavy, tasteless cake. It looked great, tasted awful. I may try it again AS WRITTEN. Had to throw it out, when the batter was doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I have to say that I was VERY DISAPPOINTED with this recipe! The measurements were really far off and you definitely need to halve the apples or double the dough?! No one really liked it and I was embarrassed that I brought it to the seder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was fabulous. I used 9" sprinform pan and microwaved the apples a bit before using. Definitely a keeper for each year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as written. You have to press the dough out to spread it over the bottom of the 9"x13" pan, but it is enough. Not sure I'd want to cut the apples or double the dough as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
For a passover cake this was not bad. I agree with many of the reviews about either doubling the batter or reducing the apples. This is a very dense cake. Don't expect it to be light! But the flavor is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is awful!! I also did not have enough batter to cover the apples, was soggy on the bottom, took longer to bake. I can't believe this recipe worked for anyone who followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this to practice the dessert for Seder night, and I was skeptical when I making this recipe. I had to press the "bottom" part of the batter into the pan, it was so thick! And when I took it out of the oven, it was very oily (what appeared like oil). I let it cool for a few hours, and when the boyfriend tasted it, he said it didn't taste like Pesach and he would've believed me if I had told him it wasn't! That's the highest compliment, seeing as he dreads Passover food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States