Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I made it for the last days of the holiday and brought it to lunch at a friend’s home. Rave reviews even from my husband that hates Pesach cake. The hostess wanted the recipe as well and the kids gobbled it up too! This is what I did: I doubled the dough (as mentioned prior), used 5 granny smith apples sliced thin. Added 2 tsp’s of Passover vanilla to both the dough and the apple mixture. I also bought a 9 & ¾” springform pan (at Stop N Shop) and layered it in. A good way to pat the dough in the pan is wet your hands, blot on a towel so they aren’t soaking wet and it’s much easier to pat smoothly in the pan. I then topped the cake with sliced almonds, and sprinkled cinnamon as well as passover "vanilla sugar" on top. Recipe is a keeper and I will make again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
First of all the cake tasted great!!!! I made it for our annual Seder and it passed the test with 15 people all sampling it. I was very concerned about the 'weight' of the plate. Honestly it felt like it weight a ton when I carried it to dinner. However, it was needless to worry - everyone loved it and it was NOT heavy at all. Okay notes: I took advice and made 1 1/2 times the 'dough' which is more like a cake batter and did use Matzoh cake meal and almond flour combined along with the potato starch. I added a tiny bit of lemon juice to the apples. I used a bundt pan instead of a9x13 and baked it a bit longer. The most trouble I had was removing it from the bundt pan but that my fault for not greasing the pan well enough. After removing the cake I did place it under the broiler to give the top a nice crispness and it browned it up nicely as well. Yes this cake feels very very heavy; however when sliced and eaten it is NOT heavy tasting. Nothing but crumbs left and that speaks for itself. It was a nice change from chocolate and coconut desserts and especially from those tasteless store-bought desserts. I will definitely be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This "cake" was inedible and awful. The "dough" is purely matzoh chunks mixed with lots of oil, plus some sugar. For me, it came out hard and chewy, with matzoh bits that jam in the teeth. Differences from other people: 1) I used strawberries rather than apples. I would think that strawberries would be at least as juicy, but perhaps not. 2) Per the comments of many other reviewers, it's difficult to figure out the "correct" ratio of batter to fruit (except that there's general agreement that the ratios in the original are not right.) And 3) I used homemade food-processor matzoh meal, rather than store-bought, since (around here at least) all of the matzoh meal sold in the stores (to take one prominent example, the Manischevitz) -- says "Not For Passover" on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Now a Passover go to recipe! I used 6 apples (4 granny smith, 1 braeburn and 1 rome). I made one and half times the batter. Not enough to cover the top otherwise. The apples were cut thin (each quarter section cut into three). I am a true believer in more apple variety, the better the flavor and texture. The cake part is nice and moist and crumbly. If I didn't tell my guest it was a Passover cake they would have not believed me. Absolutely delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Absolutely loved it. I can't understand the negative reviews... this passover apple cake goes down well and takes me back to my childhood. Regarding the Matzoh meal don't go overboard on trying to find Matzoh meal. Crush Matzoh crackers, the more you crush the finer it gets. Regarding the potato starch you get quite a lot when you make your potato Latkes, most people throw the stuff down the sink. while it may be a little more effort its the way it was made years ago...Tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Great taste! The texture is "passover" (heavy and "sandy")- but what choice is there this time of year? Go ahead and try it- but don't pay heed to the reviewers who say to double the batter. I made 1-1/2 times the batter and it was too much dough. You want the apples to be plentiful- bec the matzo-meal dough isn't the strong point (don't expect a light and fluffy texture like year round)- the apples are the highlight of this cake so go ahead and use all 8. So basically- keep the recipe as is- don't go messing with the proportions. The batter is much thicker than you are probably used to working with- it's more like cookie-dough- so squeeze in some fresh orange juice...though for me it stayed very thick. I had to spread it using my fingers bec a spoon wouldn't suffice. Bec it was too hard to spread the dough over the apples on the top layer, I made a crumb topping instead using equal parts matzo meal and sugar and a few drops of oil to get the right consistency. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
change the size of your pan, a pie dish works better like in the picture. Not enough dough to fit a 9x13 dish, so I had to remove and re-fit into the pie dish. It was delish!!! I added walnuts to give a better texure too, and powdered sugar on top. A hit at the passover dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is an awesome recipe and does not taste like a cardboard cake. Its more like a torte even sold one at my friends coffee shop by the slice, it is now a very requested item. I did bake it a bit longer and used a springform pan, it was beautiful. For easier cutting I used a serrated knife. Its Passover time again and it was the first request (after the brisket of course lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I made this for Passover and it was delicious. I agree with many of the other reviewers who said to double the batter. Otherwise there is not enough for the top of the cake. I would also add a cash of vanilla. I do find it interesting that the picture is a round cake and the recipe calls for a rectangular one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
i read all the reviews and agree that the batter needs to be doubled. i made it 3 times in a week, once to try it, second for passover, and third for easter sunday! first go was ok, too much nutmeg tho. i cut that to about less than a 1/2 a teaspoon. the second & third time i doubled the batter, cut back on the nutmeg, and added more brown sugar to the middle with the apples (which i only used about 4-5 apples), and on top, BETTER!! everyone raved about it at both dinners! i will definitely make this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrittalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States