Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this to practice the dessert for Seder night, and I was skeptical when I making this recipe. I had to press the "bottom" part of the batter into the pan, it was so thick! And when I took it out of the oven, it was very oily (what appeared like oil). I let it cool for a few hours, and when the boyfriend tasted it, he said it didn't taste like Pesach and he would've believed me if I had told him it wasn't! That's the highest compliment, seeing as he dreads Passover food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I made this recipe and accidently used cake meal. It is delicious. Hubby did a taste test. Happy to find a good holiday recipe. (It's in the freezer waiting for Passover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
My husband said the best passover dessert he has ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe was good for a Passover dish. I think I'll stick to my normal recipe for the rest of year. I did as many people suggested and doubled the batter. I don't think there would have been enough for the top if I didn't. The only other change I made was that I didn't have any brown sugar so I used white instead. Definitely a recipe to use next year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Definitely needed to use half the apples. It was a little heavy. Tasted ok with ice cream. I won’t make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for Passover this year and my family loved it. I decided to make it diabetic friendly since we have a few in the family who have to watch their sugar intake. I used Splenda in place of the white sugar and Splenda brown sugar in place of the Brown sugar! We topped it off with a dollop of sugar free whipped topping....Yummy! Thanks for a wonderful Passover friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was soooo good, people are still asking me about it. I made one for my boss to bring back home to NY and now I'm famous there for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a great Passover cake. A VERY nice change from the box mixes. After reading the other reviews, I used only five apples, and increased the batter to 1 1/2 times the original amount. We didn't have brown sugar, so I had to use regular sugar instead. I also added some raisins to the apple mixture. The entire family adored it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
The greatest apple cake ever. People did not believe that it was Kosher for Passover. I only used 3/4 of the top and extra cinnamon, came out more like apple crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe considering its a passover cake. It was very good and I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The apples were delicious. I only used 6 apples though and found that it was more than enough. :) thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States