Passion Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
SOOOOOO good! I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk to use up, and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I did a half-batch and I pretty much followed the recipe... Although I didn't measure the peanut butter, just put a huge spoonful of it in the milk. Oh, and a hint: It's much easier to mix the milk/PB-mix and spread it over the crust if you heat it in the microwave for 15 or 30 seconds. Then in blends really easily and it's pretty simple to smooth over the base. I also pressed down on the top crust a little to make sure it would not fall apart. Wonderful! I lined the 8" pan with foil, sprayed it, and it was simple to remove and cut the bars. Thanks, Sue, I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
this recipe is excellent and so easy! they look great too. next time i will try white chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. if you slightly heat the condensed milk + peanut butter mixture in the microwave, it helps to ease the spreading over the oatmeal base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
All I can say about these bars is run to your kitchen and make them now, especially if you love PB & Chocolate together :o) I followed the directions to a "T" and these turned out awesome! Everyone who tried them loved them. I did line my pan with foil so the bars lifted out easier to cut. I stored mine in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
SOOOO GOOOOOD! I only used 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because I didn't want to make the chocolate overpowering. They came out perfect. I've tried them a few times, and they always come out a little better and softer when I bake them in a glass pan instead of a metal one. I've also used peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips. MMMMMmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I have made these several times; they seem to work for me everytime. I make sure, however, not to bake them too long. This will definitely leave that burnt chocolate chip aftertaste. Watch your oven, and these will definitely be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Wow. These are really good and not too sweet. My young kids gobbled these up, and I have to say my hubby and I were right there with 'em!! I didn't measure the choc chips, just added to coat the pan. Also added a handful or 2 of white chips. I didn't have all the peanut butter it called for, which didn't matter. The peanut butter and cond. milk aren't hard to mix at all..just a little elbow grease. :) The recipe calls for you to allow them to cool before cutting them, but I had to try them out of the oven and I think they would be awesome warm with vanilla ice cream! I will definately keep this recipe. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
These were good although too sweet for my taste. I made the prep easier by using a food processor to make the oat mixture. Then after reserving part and pressing the rest into the pan, I used the processor again to mix the peanut butter & condensed milk. Altogether less than 10 min prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Can you say, "Little slice of heaven"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
These were good, but a little too rich for my liking. I used a full bag of chocolate chips..(I'm not sure if that's more than 2 cups), but it was way too much. The chocolate overpowered everything else and made these sickly sweet. I did like the crust. It had a good flavor and I loved the oatmeal in it. Would probably only use half a bag of chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Fantastic and easy. Cut them into very small squares, as they are decadently rich and a bite or two goes a long way--but that's probably because I added a cup of coconut (sprinkled it atop the peanut butter mixture before sprinkling the chocolate chips), and doubled the chocolate chips. They are very gooey, so I store them in the refrigerator after baking. I've added this recipe to my Christmas cookie list for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States