Passion Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My family loved them. The topping is a bit crumbly and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Awesome! My 12 year old son made these this afternoon (with a little assistance cutting in the butter) and the whole family loves them. Perfect exactly as written. Cut the first row into 1/24 size pieces but that seemed a bit much so the rest got cut smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are just o.k. Seems like they're missing something, as the flavor is pretty bland and one-dimensional. Vanilla, maybe? Also found the peanut butter and sweetened condensed milk mixture hard to spread without destroying the bottom oatmeal layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were very yummy, and easy! I used old-fashioned oats and 1 1/2 c chocolate chips. As I spread the peanut butter mixture on the crust, the crust started to come up and mix with the peanut butter - actually pulling the crust off of the bottom of that pan. That was a bit frustrating, but it all looked fine in the end. I used buttered hands to coax the peanut butter layer into spreading out nicely. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Trenado
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very delicious!! But you HAVE to have a glass of milk or two in hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yummy, easy bars. I agree that cutting them in small squares is best. Plus, then you have more bars to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I'm almost gave this recipe only four stars because I believe that more butter is needed to avoid crumbling...the last time I made these, I used a full cup of butter (gasp) and they turned out to be just perfect. They cut easily, and made nice firm bars. Everyone who eats these falls in love with them - it is the peanut butter/condensed milk filling that makes them rise above any other confection of this type. You only need one small bar at a time, because they are very rich, but they are oh so good. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Update: I have started selling my baked goods at a local farmer's market and these are the absolute favorites. I sell out every week. I love to watch people's faces as they bite into the small samples I provide - if they taste them, they must have more. Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These are so quick and easy to make, and very good...very rich though, almost like candy. The only change I made was using a half cup of milk chocolate chips and half a cup of peanut butter chips, because that is what I had on hand. Definitly will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed this receipt just as is - delicious, especially if you like sweets and peanut butter. It's a great way to make a snack with whole oats. They were very good after we let them cool, but we actually preferred them cold and chewy out of the refrigerator. My teenage ate half the pan in one night. I used the tip about slighty heating the peanut butter and condensed milk in the microwave before spreading and it definitely made it easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious! I substituted whole wheat flour and white and dark chocolate chips (leftovers) and they came out perfect! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States