Paska Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this for Easter it made plenty I did cut the flour by 3 cups and I added 2 more cups of sugar it came out perfect and for the top I used 1 egg and 4tsp of sugar just for a sweeter taste I will definitely make it again Thank u ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I'll give it a try, but way too much flour, and it probs makes to much. MAKE THE RECIPE LOWER GUYS COME ON I DON'T REALLY WANT TO USE 12 CUPS OF FLOUR PLUS 5!!!!!!!!! REALLY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avapuppy123
Photo by five cents
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I used a scant tablespoon of sea salt & added 8 oz of softened cream cheese. Then I filled it with chocolate: 10 oz of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1/4 cup white sugar & 3 tablespoons butter. Stir together & sprinkle over dough that has been punched down & rolled into a rectangle. I rolled it up & let it rise in a tube pan. I baked it @ 350 degrees for 35 minutes. This was done with 1 of the 3 loaves & I froze the other two for now. Then when I want a fresh loaf I'll thaw out 1 dough ball let it come to room temperature & fill it with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by five cents

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Wonderful soft, fluffy, brioche-like bread. Here's what I did: I mixed up the sponge in the morning. I used instant yeast, which doesn't need proofing; I just mixed it in with the flour, and instead of warm water I used all milk (room temp). I covered the bowl with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge all day. Oh, I also cut the sugar to 2 Tbsp. Then, I pulled the sponge out of the fridge around dinnertime, along with the butter and eggs, and gave the sponge a stir (it was at the top of the bowl by then). When everything was room temp, I mixed the dough--using about 1 full teaspoon of lemon zest and 1 Tbsp Kosher salt. I let the dough rise, then divided it into three 2 lb. 5 oz loaves. I shaped the loaves into balls, set them in lightly greased panettone papers, covered them with greased plastic wrap, and put them in the refrigerator overnight. Perfect! The next morning, I pulled them out and brushed them with egg wash while the oven warmed up. I topped one loaf with sprinkles, one with pearl sugar, and left one plain. After baking, I made a confectioners' sugar glaze with lemon juice and a little milk and covered the plain loaf, then topped with sprinkles. I thought this bread was great; I probably didn't need to cut the sugar quite so much--maybe next time I'd use 2/3 or 3/4 cup total. This made amazing French toast a couple of days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Melissa S.
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this bread for a traditional Orthodox Easter basket. This recipe is wonderful! My pascha was beautiful, and VERY good! I followed the recipe exactly. For baking, though, I made two larger loaves (around 2 1/2 pounds each) instead of three loaves, and I reserved the remaining dough to make braiding around the edge of my bread as well as a braided cross in the middle. I will try to attach a picture. The directions do not say to put the bread loaves in pans, but I did use 9 inch round cake pans for mine. I will keep this recipe and continue to use it for my annual Pascha basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My grandmother never wrote any of her recipes down and now she is no longer able to remember them. She has been the paska maker in our family for all of my life, but now it is my turn. I am so grateful for this recipe! My very first paska turned out beautifully! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I only added 8 additional cups of flour (as another reviewer also mentioned). Is it possible that recipe was supposed to include a total of 12 cups...instead of 16? Also, I used quick acting yeast because the regular yeast just did not cooperate for me. I used 3 CorningWare casserole dishes: 1 round 2.5 liter, 1 round 1.6 liter, and 1 oval 2.8 liter. In addition I was able to use the remaining dough to make a batch of cinnamon rolls! This will definitely be our new family paska recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ragsy
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I have been making this Easter bread since the 1970's. It has become a tradition. Everyone asks for it before Easter and they love it. I have a heavy-duty Kitchen Aide mixer, but mix up half a recipe at a time and only "knead" it in the Kitchen Aide until the dough follows the bread blade around the bowl. I always finish by hand kneading method to prevent my mixer from overheating. This recipe always turns out great. It is fool proof if you follow the directions. Also, mixing up only half a recipe at a time makes the hand kneading easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe- my daughter makes this every year for Christmas and Easter, by extended family's DEMAND, not request. Love you, Gwen!! This makes three very large loaves. Is especially attractive when the dough is braided, like challah. Try this just as written- it's YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This bread is fantastic! The only thing I changed was I halved the amount of lemon. Only because I am not a lemon freak. I absolutely love this bread! Oh my gosh gooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Outstanding! Made this bread with organic soy milk but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Had to halve it, but still managed to get two delicious loaves. Perfect Easter bread! Takes me back to my Polish great-grandmother's bread and my Easter in Ukraine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States