Pashka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Pashka is traditionally served within my extended family (Mennonite background) as a bread at Easter. This recipe sounds like the pashka 'cheese' used as a spread for the sweet and thick crusted bread. I have heard the cheese is best made with 'real' cottage cheese (from local farmers) rather than that found in a local grocery store. The texture is much finer and it provides a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was great! I don't like currants and I didnt have almonds so I put a drop of almond flavoring in the mix. I would probably cut down the sugar if I was not going to use the tart currants but it was still really wonderful! Thanks for the recipe Jackie! I will make it often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Very good! I used chopped peaches instead of currants. We celebrate Ostara, and used this dish as part of our feast. I recommend this dish for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon74079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ganado, Arizona, USA
Living In: Stroud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe is nothing short of amazing. For a little something extra, use sugar flavored with vanilla or roses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
OMG this was so simple and so good. I also did not use currents. I soften rasins and used them. You can subsituted almost any fruit or just leave out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycents

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good recipe! In times past this was eaten only once per year but now it is becoming a general holiday dessert eatne at many holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Donald H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Treasure Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Pashka is one of my favorite Easter time dishes. I LOVE this recipe! So easy to make and it tastes like cheesecake filling! I leave out any raisins or almonds as everyone in my family likes it smooth. This was the 1st time I added lemon extract to it and it was surprisingly good. Perfect pashka if you ask me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I love this receipe very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Really simple & yummy! Great for those watching their carbs too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I mother made Pashka every Easter and used vanilla bean and yellow raisins. She used a plastic flower pot with holes and lined it with cheese cloth so that the liquid could drain. It was served as a dessert. I cut down on the sugar because of the raisins I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

How to Make Crepes

Make delicious stuffed crepes for breakfast, dinner or dessert.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States