Party Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a really good BASE recipe. For people without a severe sweet tooth, this could definitely be way too much sweet, with not enough spice. However, I altered this slightly, to compensate, and found this wonderful combo. I only used 1 pound of Kielbasa, so keep that in mind. What ended up in the sauce was: 1 cup ketchup, 3/4 cup grape jelly, 1/4 spicy brown mustard, 1 1/2 TBSP Wostershire, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, and 3 TBSP savory BBQ sauce(I used America's Choice Kansas City Style). The result is currently disappearing from the pan, it never made it to a dish. Thanks for a good starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
My friend made this for a Christmas party we went to back in December 2005. But instead of using ketchup and grape jelly, he used barbecue sauce and grape jelly. He then served it on top of plain cooked white rice. It was Awesome! and everyone was asking him for the receipe!!! So if you want to try something different, then use barbecue sauce as a substitute for ketchup and trying serving it on top of some cooked white rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I use the lil' smokies and made this recipe two different ways, one with ketchup and jelly, and the other with BBQ sauce and jelly. My friends and family all seem to like the BBQ and jelly the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
So this is a pretty popular recipe, but I make it slightly different. Instead of Ketchup, use Chili Sauce. Yes, Heinz makes that too...same aisle in your grocery store. Seriously tho, it's not quite as "tomato-y", (can guys use that word?) as the Ketchup and still comes out really good. The Grape Jelly has all the sweet you need, so Chili Sauce is a nice balance. Also, just throw it all in together and let it meld. The juices from the Kielbasa make the glaze quite killer. I'd go just a tad longer on the cooking time too. At least an hour or two. Come back and thank me later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I liked this recipe. I added 2T of Worcestershire sauce for more "kick". I've used Worcestershire sauce, ketchup and grape jelly with premade frozen meatballs before (the ones in the grocery store). I thought this variation was great. The meatballs are always the first to go at the buffet table. I can't wait to try this variation on my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Men love this, and I've seen some ladies also eat forkfuls of this. Only change I make is to swap out the ketchup for barbeque sauce for a more piquant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I like this sauce better with meatballs, not on the kielbasa. I took this to a party and two people sugested I use 2 sm jars of currant flavored jelly and 2 table spoons yellow mustard. I will give that a try, but I would not make this sauce with kielbasa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is a great recipe. I am a chef and needed somthing real quick and did'nt have time to go to store. I used meatballs and it was a hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was one of the favorites at our Superbowl get together. I will definitely be making these again for other parties. Thank you marli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I've been looking for this recipe FOREVER... it was exactly as I had had at a friend's party. It's so good ... and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States