Party Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Easy to make..I like the fact that I don't have to saute the veggies. Do however, make better meatballs, it makes all the difference. I make mine with: 8 oz pork, 8 oz. beef, 1 egg, 1/3 cup parsley, 1 t minced garlic, 1 cup italian bread crumbs, 1 t salt, and 1/2 cup grated parmesan. I also use more broth. You can't really mess this recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I have made this recipe many times and it is one of my favorites! Over time I have made the following changes: I begin by sauteing my carrot, onion, and celery until veggies are tender and onion opaque, I add at least 64 oz broth swanson reduced sodium, no MSG), I get that up to a rolling boil then add my meatballs gently. Do not stir for several minutes and let them cook before turning down to a simmer. On the meatballs, I use only 1/2 lb ground meat, less breadcrumb, about 1/3 cup, and add parmesean cheese and finely chopped basil with the egg. I usually skip the chicken, and use the acini de pepe pasta. The spinich makes this thick and delicious. Add plenty of pepper. Wonderful! Thanks, Chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was a hit, what a great way to get a 5 year old to eat spinach, she loved it. And my husband said, "great way to get a 34 year old to eat his spinach too". Like some of the other folks, I adjusted a bit, used 1 large onion instead of 2, and that was PLENTY, used 1/2 sausage, and 1/2 ground beef for my meatballs, plus ITALIAN bread crumbs. I also baked my meatballs in the oven until browned before adding to soup. I did use the acini di pepe, which I boiled seperately, then added to stockpot. Also, I used 12 cups of chicken stock, you really need it once you add all of those lovely veggies and stuff. Once again, it was delicious, and thank the original maker for giving me a great base to play around with a bit, we will DEFINATELY be making this again. ALSO, this is a very FILLING soup, a small salad and some crusty bread, and you have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIMEELVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was the first time I made Wedding Soup. I had tasted this soup only once in a coffee shop and had been dreaming of it since. I did make a few chages though. Like others I thought it needed more liquid so i added about 4 cups of water to the 48 ounces of broth. (Next time I'll just get an extra can) I only used one lg onion. I used italian bread crumbs in the meatballs. I also cooked the orzo separately so it wouldn't cause the beautiful clear broth to become cloudy. All in all I was very proud of this soup and my 12 year old ate spinach and loved it. :) May substitute KALE next time. T. LeBlanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Great recipe - very easy! Even easier was making it in the crockpot... I followed the recipe pretty much completely to the letter except: -Added more stock - probably about another can (14.5oz cans) and a half -Crockpot on High for 5 hours -Added pasta 30 minutes before the end (same as recipe) -Added cooked chicken (leftovers) 30 minutes before the end Came out great - HUGE batch of soup - definitely freezing the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cate C.
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent soup, different from anything that I've ever prepared. It was actually fun to make. I used ground turkey in place of ground beef, used Italian flavored breadcrumbs, and added a little Italian seaoning. Also used an extra cn of chicken broth. Be careful with the acini de pepe pasta, it swells quite a bit, and mine was a little thick, I think about 3/4 cup of dry pasta is about right. Served with hot, homemeade rolls and a glass of cabernet. Perfect for a cold winters day. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Loved this soup - perfect on a cold rainy night! I added a couple of tablespoons of pesto to the meatballs - they were fantastic. Used a 48oz can and 2 14oz cans of broth - might just use 2 large cans next time as the flavor was plenty intense enough to handle the extra liquid. Next time would NOT use chopped spinach as it made the pot look like it was covered in grass clippings! (Using regular and chopping it myself would give a much better look to the dish. The accompanying photos definitely do not have chopped greens in them.) Definitely going into the rotation - wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was tasty, although you HAVE TO double the broth or you end up eating a stew instead of a soup. The whole kitchen smelled warm and inviting while it simmered, and it was the perfect meal for the first cold night of autumn along with some Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I wanted for Italian Wedding Soup. I always bought it canned and it was just too salty. This took a little while, but was completely worth it. I made a few changes per some other reviewer suggestions: doubled chicken broth, used 50-50 sausage and ground beef, and skipped the chicken altogether. Also I sauteed the veggies in some olive oil and added a few finely chopped garlic cloves. I will be making this a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
kids go nuts for this soup other than making the tiny meatballs it is super easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States