Party Cucumber Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Went over well at my impromptu gathering. I had all the ingredients in the house, so I whipped them together and got great praises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKVETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very easy to make. I made it for a party and got compliments all night long. If you don't like rye bread, you can also use french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I had something like this at a baby shower before and thought I'd try it out. It wasn't exactly like what I had before, but it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Tasty! The recipe is easy and makes good use of things commonly found in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Optional Method that we love: 1) Use Mini sourdough bread instead of Rye. 2) Sprinkle top of cucumber with Lemon Pepper (Give it a try) These do not last long when we make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I was concerned the onion slices would overpower the cucumbers so I did not add them. I added additional thin slices of cucumber (which needs salt and pepper to taste). The combination of mayo and softened cream cheese was bland so I added 1 teaspoon of powdered ranch dressing mix. This gave the sandwiches a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I love cucumber sandwiches. A tip for the onions: Use very finely sliced red onion that has been soaked in cold water for at least a half hour. Gently squeeze out excess water with your hands, pat dry well and proceed with the sandwich making. Soaking the onion makes for an incredible sweetness minus the sharpness. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were a BIG hit .... we all loved them; so easy and refreshing. Thanks for sharing! Instead of putting everything on party rye, I simply spread the cheese on the cuke and topped with the onion -- very YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but it just was not what I expected. I liked the filling and the cucumbers, but hated it on the cocktail bread. If I try this again, I think I will use a softer rye bread cut into rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Yum! I used potato bread for this. Was worried the onion would be overpowering, but when sliced thin it really added a nice zing - I would not recommend omitting the onion from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States