Party Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is SO good! The different flavors meld together beautifully. I used mandarin oranges instead of the pineapple as another reviewer mentioned. Next time I will try more curry for a bit stronger taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I took another reviewers (brilliant) advice & made this as a cold pasta salad although I'm sure it is delicous as is for a sandwich or crossaint.. I used 1/2 pound of cooked bowtie pasta, 3 boiled & shredded chicken breast, 2 cups mayo, 1 cup sour cream, 2 teaspoons curry, 1 1/2 cups celery, 1 1/2 cups red grapes (what I had), 1 pink lady apple, everything about this was perfect! Moist, crunchy, & delicious! I omitted the pecans & pineapple because I didn't have them on hand, I may add the pineapple to see how it flavors it next time but there is plenty of crunch without the pecans! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This recipe was quick, easy and delicious! I didn't change a thing! Great for parties or just a nice change to ordinary chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been making this for 15 years and it is a favourite stand-by. I have never tried it with pineapple, but will next time . I use plain yogurt instead of sour cream and add 1tbs mango chutney to the dressing. This complements the curry powder and adds a sweet touch. Raisins and/or dried cranberries are great if you have no grapes on hand. Final party tip: serve it in cantaloupe melon cups or quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I was a little leery about the combination of flavors in this dish, but it was delicious. Served it on a couple leaves of romaine lettuce for a nice light summertime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I prepared this just as written and it was delicious! I will certainly make this again. This is the best chicken salad I have ever tasted! The curry is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Loved every bite! The perfect salad on a hot summer's day. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Has anyone tried this using miracle whip? It appears that it might enhance the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
A local tea room served a chicken salad that I loved, so I experimented until I made one very similar to it. This recipe is almost exactly the one I came up with. I did not use apples; I did use whatever I had..raisins, sliced strawberries, grapes, etc. I did not use sour cream; I also added lemon juice and a touch of sugar; and instead of pecans the tea room used salted peanuts (I have also made it with pecans) but I will try the new ideas..sour cream, etc. this recipe uses. I've learned this is a great "make ahead"...it's better if kept refrigerated overnight. The recipe has been requested every time I've served it to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Sheppard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was just what I was looking for. My bridge club was coming for lunch and I wanted something different to serve. I served it on a lettuce leaf with a fresh croisant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States