Party Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I've made this recipe numerous times but I follow the original Kraft recipe which calls for 2 teaspoons of Worchestershire sauce and also a dash of cayenne pepper. That's may be why the previous reviewer said the cheese ball was so wet and the nuts just sank in because the amount of sauce is incorrect Even using 2 teaspoons of Worchestershire sauce can be a little over-powering and take away the cheese flavor. I've cut back to just one teaspoon of Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is one of our all time family favorites. It is something that everyone expects me to make for our get together's. I also got the recipe from Kraft on the cream cheese wrapper. Everyone thinks it is mine. Sometimes I split it in two and make two small cheese balls depending on the number of guests... One for the party and one for later. I leave the cheese out until pretty soft then it is easier to mix. Or you can shape it into a bell and use the green and red peppers to decorate for Christmas parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Just made this for a party I was hosting. It was a huge hit. However the dip was very soft, so when I tried to roll it in the pecans they sank into the cheeseball. Next time I will let the cheeseball set in the fridge for a bit and then roll in the pecans. It did look like a hot mess when I was done, but was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sutherngurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a great cheese ball and highly recommend it. The reviewers that had trouble shaping it may I suggest that you chill the mixture until stiffened and then the nuts will not disappear and you can make a very attractive centerpiece. Good luck....do this with all cheese balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
A tip: I let the cheese sit 1-2 hours if I have the time and then mix all the ingredients. Wrap it in saran wrap, make a ball and chill. THEN roll in finely chopped pecans. I love cheese of all kinds and this recipe has been used for years in our family. I never cut the worcestershire down, it adds to the flavor for sure. Along with the lemon juice. I only omit the salt. Happy eating :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Reminded me so much of my grandmothers! My touch? green onions instead of regular, and a new surprise...A-1! I ran out of Worcestershire and subbed it. Nice diff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious, but too wet for me, I think. Next time I'll reduce the amount of Worcestershire as someone recommended (to 2 tsp. rather than tbsp.) and probably reduce the lemon juice as well. While I did love this, I still prefer the recipes using jarred dried beef as a flavor component! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My uncle shared this recipe with me, and everyone loves it so much! I usually make a cheese log since so there are more nuts-per-cheese, and I like to use wheat thins since they are sturdy enough. It's true, when it's all mushy, the nuts sink in. It's better to refridgerate and then roll it I guess, but I'm always doing it last minute, so it ends up kinda messy but quite yummy! I never add any salt, and I always forget which is one or two tablespoons or teaspoons. But it always has pizazz! I really like it for the holidays because the green peppers and red pimentos look so festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at my recent family party! I made a few of the recommended changes though. I used green onion instead of regular onion, and i used jarred pimentos, which worked very well. I also reduced the amount of worcestershire sauce to 2 tsp instead of 2 TBSP, and added a dash of paprika. I let the ball chill in the refrigerator over night, and rolled it in the pecans just before serving. I will definitely be making this for all parties to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The most delicious cheese ball I have ever had! It was a huge hit, and all my friends have asked for the recipe! I substitute Neufchâtel for the creek cheese and serve with gluten free crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States