Party Cake Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
I used this recipe for a cake filling. Instead of pineapple I used strawberries - It was great! The entire family loved it. After the cake was gone we used some of the extra strawberries and dipped them in some of the left over filling - that was great too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I made my first cake ever with this as a filling, and the cake was gone not long after the candles were blown out! I made a two layer 9" white cake, and this filling was really enough to make two cakes this size. Not too sweet, the pineapple is not strong at all, and a very nice fluffy touch to any cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Very tastey and easy, but just a little too liquidy. I'd reduce the milk by 1/4 c or so next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Delicious! I took other reviewer advice and used 1/2 cup milk in the pudding to make it thicker and I made that first and set aside. I then beat the cream cheese, added in the pineapple with a little juice, then added in the pudding mixture-once mixed I folded in the cool whip and this helped to keep it light and fluffy. I refrigerated it overnight and frosted my pineapple mud cake from this site in the morning before I left for work. Everyone loved it. This topping made the whole thing so creamy but not overpowering in sweetness. Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is so easy to make, and I was able to substitute 1/2 coconut milk and coconut cream pudding mix. Turned out wonderful for my coconut cake. Will definitely hang on to this for a good base frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This is a great topping!! Very light, and not too sweet. Comparable to whipped topping at bakeries. I combined pineapples, strawberries and bananas in it to fill my cake with a 'fruit basket' filling. Great as just an 'icing' as well!! Kudos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I love it! Very light tasting and not too sweet. I used it for cake filling. I omitted the pineapple because I didn't have any. My husband put what I didn't use in the fridge because he liked it so much. We will use the remainder as a fruit dip for my daughters birthday party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I think it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was amazing. I wanted to try it with the pineapple but when I got into my cabinet, I only had choc pudding. I omitted the pineapple and did less milk like the reviews suggested. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very yummy and light. From other reviews I used only 3/4 cup of milk. I also didn't put in the pineapple because my husband doesn't like pineapple. Next time I think I will try chocolate pudding mix. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States