Party Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
excellent recipe-used it for my daughters birthday cake. I used 2 tablespoons of jello from a big box of raspberry flavor. Pretty pink color. Also, leftovers refrigerated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I had made cupcakes and did not have any frosting. I found this and thought well I have all the stuff what is the worst to happen? Well let me tell you this is a MUST TRY! (I used cherry jello) I made it and had to wait for cupcakes to bake, I put the frosting in the frig and it was great! A sure make again. Thank you Judith for such a wonderful frosting! My huddy liked it and so did a neighbor girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I thought this was excellent the sprinkles even stuck to the frosting without having to press them in, however my prissy three year old doesn't like anything stickey on her hands and was not thrilled with it on the cupcakes and refused to finish them :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This frosting was delicious. My kids say that it tastes like laffy taffy. It has a marshmellowy texture. It was fairly simple to make. I used the small box of jello, and since it was a 3 oz. size, I did a 1 1/2 recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
i was admittedly skeptical at first. i made it and it was very runny. but it cooled for a while and thickened up. it was perfect. i made it for a valentines party on cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm not sure if I am clear on what size box of jello to use because I didn't find a 1 oz. box in the store. My frosting turned out very sticky and almost unable to frost with. Otherwise it tasted a lot like laffy taffy as someone else had commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I dont know what I did wrong but it turned out unspreadable. Im giving it three stars in honor of my error - because it still tasted good, but I had to throw it away. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
i don't know what i did wrong! is it supposed to be gritty? fluffed up pretty. my bf said it would have had a good taste if it wasn't so gritty. maybe next time i'll try melting the jello and sugar in the water then adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Timmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! Tastes similar to starburst candies. After frosting my cake, I baked spoonfuls of the frosting for 5 to 7 minutes at 3:75. They turned out somewhat marshmallowy. Very tasty treat. (Very sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee dee sweetie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This looked like such a good recipe, and I really hoped to give this a good rating, but for me the recipe turned out so poor. I also increased the recipe amounts by a half, since I had a 3oz jello packet. The jello gives it a very strong flavor, just really different from the stuff I'm used to. It was also a little oozy. And I whipped and whipped this stuff! After whipping it, I put the bowl in the fridge for a 1/2 hour, but it just didn't set up like I needed it to. My cupcakes looked like shiny plastic toys with frosting slowly dripping off the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States