Parsnip and Carrot Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
RUN - do not walk to get parsnips! They are like white carrots - mine were pretty big and I used 4 large parsnips and 4 average sized carrots. OH MY GOODNESS - so GOOD. I used the immersion blender but just mixed them into a semi-chunky texture - butter and a bit of kosher salt and these are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
All I can say is...DELISH!! Hubby and I have been trying new veggies and neither of us had ever had parsnips. This is a great starter recipe and we didn't change anything. Will definatley make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
By golly, this really was fabulicious! A great alternative to mashed potatoes, and very easy to make. Stayed w/ the 4:1 ratio of parsnips to carrots as called for by the recipe submitter, and glad we didn’t veer off course as the wonderful flavor of the parsnips shined through. The 8 medium and large sized parsnips weighed in at 2 pounds, and 8 ounces of baby carrots were used. We made the following ‘tweaks’: 2X snipped chives as listed, and added 2 tablespoons honey and a dash of nutmeg. Thank you ‘Always Cooking Up Something’ for a fantastic vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was delicious!! Highly recommend! I had more carrots than parsnips so my ratio was reversed and it was still fabulous. I also used green onions instead of chives and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really liked this, I didn't have chives so I just used salt and pepper, only used half the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Fabulous change of pace vegetable. I followed the recipe, but not necessarily the proportions. I just used the one huge parsnip I had and three carrots. Delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Stauffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very nice, here's my take on it: - cooked everything in 2/3 water, 1/3 milk with a bit of chicken broth, gives a nice taste - used half carrot/half parsnip - also some yellow green beans and just a bit of potatoes (the latter are unnecessary but I do recommend the beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I got a nice smooth texture with the following modifications to the technique: drain the cooked parsnips/carrots and return to hot pot. Add chives and whole stick (8T) of butter, stir until melted. Transfer mixture to food processor and let food processor run for several minutes until vegetables are smooth. If you have a small-ish food processor you may need to do this in batches. If the vegetables cool too much during this time, pop them in the oven at 350 for a few minutes until hot again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious! My only modification was holding off on the additional 3 tbs of butter and add a few splashes of cream. Can't wait to make it again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charvey
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy recipe, delicious results. We don't have an immersion blender so I poured the boiled carrots and parsnips into the kitchen blender after draining and added chives and butter. Blended til smooth, prodding with a wooden spoon to keep the mixture moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States