Parsnip and Carrot Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
RUN - do not walk to get parsnips! They are like white carrots - mine were pretty big and I used 4 large parsnips and 4 average sized carrots. OH MY GOODNESS - so GOOD. I used the immersion blender but just mixed them into a semi-chunky texture - butter and a bit of kosher salt and these are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used half carrots, half parsnips. Mine did not turn out very smooth because I probably slightly undercooked the vegetables (they were soft but still had texture), plus not owning an immersion blender, I tried using a hand mixer - I SHOULD have dragged out my food processor! But it was still delicious, a lovely change from our usual side dish. I'd like to experiment with different herbs or spices next time, maybe add a teeny drop of honey or even maple syrup like I do when I roast these vegetables together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
We got some carrots and parsnips from our CSA so was looking for a recipe that used both. This fit the bill perfectly. I added just a touch of cinnamon for some extra flavor. Although my kids weren't thrilled with it, my husband and I both enjoyed it. I will make this again should I find I have an abundance of these veggies once more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Amazing! I've used spinach instead in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Warfel Bitler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I found this to have a bitter aftertaste. I tried adding curry as another reviewer suggested, which helped a little, but I think I will find another way to use parsnips from my CSA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My 7 month old LOVES this! I prefer it with a little dash of nutmeg - great suggestion by other reviewers! - but he can't get enough of it as is. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
All I can say is...DELISH!! Hubby and I have been trying new veggies and neither of us had ever had parsnips. This is a great starter recipe and we didn't change anything. Will definatley make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used 3-4 large parsnips, 5 carrots, and a stick of butter. Stick blender worked great but I think a food processor would work well too. Made a nice side dish for chicken instead of potatoes. I think it would even be a great addition to our Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Kind of bland when I tried this, so I added curry powder and nutmeg. Roast the veggies a bit longer when on top of the stove for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renbyrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really liked this, I didn't have chives so I just used salt and pepper, only used half the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States