Parsley Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Ok my family loved this. My rating 4 stars is for the said recipe idea, but after my following changes my family rated it 5 Stars. I changed it a bit after reading the pervious reviews before cooking it. After I sauteed the onion and garic, I did sauteed the potatos with the onions and garlic. I did add more garlic, like double. Then I added the stock mix directly to the pan and low-med simmered it till the potaoes were tender. Slotted it to a serving dish added salt and pepper and topped with more parsley. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I first had these at my husband's Aunts home. They're Hungarian and eat these with almost everything. Including BBQ. YUM. I would like to suggest adding a bit of salt. I also like to brown the potatoes a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTOMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
These were okay, for as much as I love fresh parsley in dishes, I thought that these lacked flavor. I actually have this exact recipe (word for word) on an "easy everyday cooking" card (that I purchased) & the picture on the front of the card looked sooo good, but the end result needed something...like cayenne or something. I'm wondering if you submitted the recipe to easy every day cooking Hallie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Tastes better & it's healthier. Also, I used 2 onions & 4 cloves crushed garlic. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
After reading everyone's reviews, I decided to boil the potatoes like it says and then saute them in the pepper sauce. This added all the flavor and they weren't bland after all. I also added butter in the sauce. It turned out delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patrashcan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Step 3 should be step 2, no reason you can't boil the potatoes while your making the "sauce". As far as the sauce, it didn't look appealing to me, and seemed rather "bland" with those ingredients. I ended up using real butter, melting it in the potato pot before adding the potatoes back to it with the "sauce". They turned out very good. Oh, my potatoes were also larger, so I cut them up in quarters instead of leaving whole. I think they "soak up" better that way cause my dish turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
The potatoes were good, but I was little bit disappointed that they didn't have as much flavor as I had expected. They were a nice side dish, but I think that they need to be sauteed with the other ingredients instead of boiled by themselves to get more of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
These were really good. I mashed up the leftovers the next day and they were even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Yummy is right! This side tastes fresh and healthy; the combination of the fresh parsley and potato made the potatoes taste like I dug 'em up just before simmering. I served this with a rib-eye steak as suggested: what a dynamic duo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFALO GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otisco, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This was great! I just substituted dried parsley for the fresh, and it was just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States