Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Yum Yum Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to admit that I was skeptical about this recipe--I don't like fruit/meat/salad combinations! But it is GREAT! The sweet creamy poppy seed dressing makes this dish amazing--even if you're not really into that sort of thing. I often use baby spinach and packaged bacon pieces. It's a favorite--even if you're NOT a parrothead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Oh, so good! Don't be a skeptic - try it! It is delicious - one of those things you will crave! She's right a little Buffet music is a good "side dish" (even if your not a raving fan!) Keep cooking Jeannie - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Blueberries and bacon? Strawberries and tomatoes? I was a little hesitant to combine these odd pairs in a salad....but I was pleasantly in awe! This is my new favorite salad. I served it to my closest (most honest) friends and they raved about it. I added spinach to the romaine to add a little color and served with poppy seed dressing. It would be a great summer meal if you add meat or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was full of flavor. With the juicy mango you don't need salad dressing! It was a hit at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
WOW - this was D'LISH!! Got rave reviews at the party last night, what an awesome combination and such a pretty, colorful Summer salad! Our Mangos weren't quite ripe enough so I added some Poppyseed Dressing to the salad and it was PERFECT!! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Also was skeptical...was great, especially on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I posted the original recipe and recently substitued canned (drained) mandarin oranges for the mangoes, which can be messy to prepare. I loved it! Any type of greens would work well--spinach, Romaine, mixed baby greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Served this salad to my picky-eating family, then at a pitch-in lunch. My family loved it and people at the pitch-in were extremely happy with it. I brought home only a little. I added sunflower seeds to the mix, and you don't need the poppyseed dressing if you'll refrigerate chopped fruits together and add the lettuce and onion late. Or, I refrigerated the fruit with the onion overnight, and got a different flavor that was still very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugtami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Even my husband who doesn't normally think fruit belongs in a salad loved this! I served it with grilled chicken which he sliced and put on top of his salad and he went bck for more. We used the poppy seed mustard salad dressing from this site and it was delicious. It has gone into my "recipes to make often" list. Great for hot summer days when you just don't want a lot of cooking and heating or a heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States