Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Yum Yum Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to admit that I was skeptical about this recipe--I don't like fruit/meat/salad combinations! But it is GREAT! The sweet creamy poppy seed dressing makes this dish amazing--even if you're not really into that sort of thing. I often use baby spinach and packaged bacon pieces. It's a favorite--even if you're NOT a parrothead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Oh, so good! Don't be a skeptic - try it! It is delicious - one of those things you will crave! She's right a little Buffet music is a good "side dish" (even if your not a raving fan!) Keep cooking Jeannie - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Blueberries and bacon? Strawberries and tomatoes? I was a little hesitant to combine these odd pairs in a salad....but I was pleasantly in awe! This is my new favorite salad. I served it to my closest (most honest) friends and they raved about it. I added spinach to the romaine to add a little color and served with poppy seed dressing. It would be a great summer meal if you add meat or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was full of flavor. With the juicy mango you don't need salad dressing! It was a hit at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
WOW - this was D'LISH!! Got rave reviews at the party last night, what an awesome combination and such a pretty, colorful Summer salad! Our Mangos weren't quite ripe enough so I added some Poppyseed Dressing to the salad and it was PERFECT!! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I was attracted to this salad because of it's name – gotta love it!! Well, I’ll start by saying that this is quite the busy salad!! There’s lots of stuff going on here!! I made this as written, with the exception of subbing cantaloupe for the mango. Even though I had pretty sweet cherry tomatoes from the garden, I didn’t think they belonged in this, and would leave them out next time. I doubt they’d be missed. We liked this, but all that fruit really weights down the tender leaf lettuce. I’d suggest a sturdier lettuce, such as Romaine. And I wouldn’t toss this salad with dressing as all your fruit would go straight to the bottom of the bowl due to it’s weight. Instead do what I did and “arrange” the salad on the plate and then drizzle with dressing, if using. Although none was specified, I used some leftover poppy seed dressing, which complimented this well. This was tasty and we enjoyed it, but I don’t think all five fruits are necessary. You could have an equally delicious salad using 2-3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Also was skeptical...was great, especially on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I posted the original recipe and recently substitued canned (drained) mandarin oranges for the mangoes, which can be messy to prepare. I loved it! Any type of greens would work well--spinach, Romaine, mixed baby greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Served this salad to my picky-eating family, then at a pitch-in lunch. My family loved it and people at the pitch-in were extremely happy with it. I brought home only a little. I added sunflower seeds to the mix, and you don't need the poppyseed dressing if you'll refrigerate chopped fruits together and add the lettuce and onion late. Or, I refrigerated the fruit with the onion overnight, and got a different flavor that was still very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugtami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States