Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
this was so good! I used mandarin oranges instead of the mango and didnt have any raisons so I left those out. I served it with poppy seed dressing and oh my ...this was delicious I cant wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Strawberries and blueberries were on sale and an ingredient search brought me to this wonderful salad. I even went to the store to buy everything, but no mangoes, maybe not in season. But they did have kiwi and so I used that instead, left the raisins out. I wasn't sure I'd like the addition of the cherry tomatoes but I really did. What a refreshing salad with a different burst of flavor from every bite. If not for the bacon it was healthy, but you could leave the bacon out and it would still be great. I used the Tangy poppy seed dressing from this site. Next time and there will be a next time I might try some feta cheese also and make a full meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a fun salad that adds a lot of color to the table. I took a few liberties with this like using fresh grapes instead of raisins and also adding kiwi since I had some that I needed to use. It made for one eye-popping festive salad! That said, I did not care for the red onions, bacon, or tomatoes. The flavors did not blend and made for an overall odd taste. Otherwise, it would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Pretty good, but there definitely is a lot going on in this salad. I left out some of the fresh fruit, since I didn't have everything, and it was still very nice and fruity. Good flavors, but I'm not convinced that creamy poppyseed dressing is best in this. I think I'd prefer a lemon poppyseed dressing (but this is an aside, as the recipe just makes the suggestion!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Well, I fixed this salad for my wife to take to work. She looked at me like I was nuts putting all this stuff together. However she promised to try it. Well she just called, seems like the salad was a huge hit. Her quote " Awesome!!! 5 stars!!!!". So give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I have made this for three different parties now and have gotten nothing but compliments. I added a tiny bit of balsamic vinegar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
SOOOO good! I brought this to a tennis match and there was none leftover. Dressing isn't needed as the fruit juices are more than sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Who Knew this combo of items would meld so well. It dosen't get anybetter to me.I even ate the tomatos that I usely turn my noise up at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This salad was a huge hit with my family. We didn't even need to use the poppy seed dressing, as the juices from the fruit made a delicious dressing itself! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarabelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Up there as one of my favourite salads.. a great way to get your fruits and veggies. I used a lite poppyseed salad dressing and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States