Parmesan Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I'm giving this 3 stars as the 1st time I made it, my husband thought it was too heavy because of the mayonnaise (& I'd used light mayo). The 2nd time I made it, I substituted some olive oil for the mayo and eliminated the oregano, due to family preference. We thought it was better with the olive oil. You may want to experiment with how much olive oil to add, if you want to try this substitution. With half the recipe, I'd say 1 tablespoon or possibly a litle more would be OK so the mustard is spreadable. I may try it another time just with brown mustard as my husband likes that better. As I usually have the ingredients in the house, I thought it was worth a little effort to tinker with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
So easy and delicious. I only added a small amount of the mayo to the tomatoes and it wasn't as heavy. My boyfriend, who doesn't love tomatoes especially when cooked, couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Very good and tasty- a great way to use tomatoes. I only used about one TBS. of mayo and a little bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Pretty good. I like the topping and the fresher the tomatoes, the better. Good recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
These tomatoes are to die for!!! Excellent and so simple. I wouldnt change a thing -- thanks Natalie. Many compliments from my Christmas Eve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe required too much adjustment. The tomatoes topping was rather plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I love the way this turned out! I served the tomatoes over a bed of rosemary rice, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I had 2 tomatoes that were ready to go bad. Said I am not wasting as I saw your recipe. Tomatoes and mayo, yes, tomatoes with mayo and mustard that is stretching it in my book but I had everything in house and I half the recipe. I am one person now I had 2 tomatoes baked, tasted and was in heaven.. I eat half of them. Saved the other and put back in oven the following night to reheat. My friend is bringing fresh tomatoes (not that store sawdust kind) for July 4th.. we are going to make again.. Thank you Natalie.. have forwarded this recipe to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I originally served these with "kicken london broil with blue cheese butter", (also from this site), and they really complimented each other. My husband loved the tomatoes so much that he ate the leftovers for two days straight. We used the leftover london broil to make sandwiches and the tomatoes were great, because they already had the mustard, mayo, and cheese on them. He even topped his cheese omelets with them. A great way to use your garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
A geat way to use those beautiful red summer tomatoes - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States