Parmesan Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Just made these for dinner. Too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Mine also turned out like pancakes. They tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were good, but a bit eggy. Mine took about 5 more minutes than stated to bake. I'm not sure how they'd be cold, and since I have a few left I'm a bit worried. I just used a spoon to mix the flour in and it was fine, but it was quite difficult to mix in all the ingredients at the end. I was a bit worried about the egg cooking in the mix, so I put a bit of the mixture in the egg to warm it up and gradually added the egg into the mixture. That seemed to work. I'd probably use less egg next time and I'll try it with marinara sauce--we just ate it plain this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Well...the puffs came out LOOKING like puffs, but the inside was somewhat empty with lots of airholes and stuff. I think it's because I used butter instead of margarine? I also used extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of parmesan...maybe that was it too? I'm not sure, but these puffs weren't so puffy. The insides looked undone and a tiny bit soggy and weird. Anyway, everyone liked the way the puffs looked and tasted, so I guess it turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetie Makie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe didn't work for me at all. I used butter instead of margarine, so that might be the reason, but I also found the instructions somewhat lacking. I'm not a novice cook, but having never made this type of "puff" before, I had a lot of unanswered questions. Should I use a whisk or a spoon? What type of pan? Was I supposed to transfer the mixture to a bowl before adding the eggs or beat them in the hot pan I was already using? More specific instructions would have REALLY helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Wow! What a great appetizer. In less than half an hour, they were on our plates and being eaten. Very simple to make and even the kids (and adults) with the picky appetites loved them. We will definitely make them again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melvin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BEPOSITIVE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
These turned out very well. The texture was perfect, soft on the inside and slightly crispy on the outside. I used a whisk to combine the flour with the milk/margarine which combined it well, but had some trouble getting it out of the whisk. Then I took it off the heat and pushed the mixture to the side. Added the eggs to the side of the mixture, whisked them and then mixed it all together. Worked very well. These made a lovely appetizer for our Valentine's Day dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I had a go at these for Valentine's Day. I made them for an d'oeuvre and they weren't puffs but more like "cookies". I think it's b/c I added the flour too quickly to the milk/butter mixture resulting in lots of clumping. When I added the eggs I tried to de-clump the dough but I don't think it worked too well. I put in extra parm and also added pine nuts. They were good but I could definitely taste the flour clumps. I will be trying them again b/c of the rave reviews they got! My hubbie liked them too, but I want to LOVE them like everyone else! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Next time I'll use 1/5 the milk, some yeast cake and a little sugar, and SMALL eggs. I thickened it up with extra flour and it still ran flat. The flavor's pretty good. Use fresh parmesan and grate it; don't be lazy. I made a butter and garlic mix to put on it and it turned out ok. This is a good recipe. Someone needs to perfect it and post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Fantastic! The secret to these is keeping the balls REALLY SMALL as the recipe says; do not go above one rounded tsp. and you won't get soggy middles. I added: garlic salt, about 1 tsp. dried basil, fresh black pepper, and about 1/2 cup grated cheddar. Watch them carefully so the bottoms don't burn; if they start over-cooking just turn it down to 350 for the last while. Thank you so much for these! They're beautiful & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States