Parmesan Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Good - very comfort food-ish. My kids loved it. Not esp. exotic in terms of flavor, but it makes a great "quiet" side dish for something spicy. I really dislike pimento so I left that out, but next time I may try some chopped red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was amazing!My family loved it. I changed a few things. I omitted the pimintoes and added shredded colby jack. It's a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistychesebro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waverly, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Nobody really liked this. It wasn't horrible... just bland and not something I'll make again. Ended up throwing almost all of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I gave this a try & fallowed the recipe to the letter..My family and i thought it was very bland,like it was missing something? I may give it a go another time adding some addtional herbs but doubtful wasnt very impressed with this dish :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was so good. Followed the recipe without any alterations except changed the servings to 6 and it was a perfect side with the baked scallops (John Bragg's recipe from this site) and steak. We loved the slight tang and flavor from the chive and onion cream cheese. Thanks for sharing! Update: This does re-heat well for leftovers. Just add a small splash of milk and a little of the cream cheese/chive spread and stir. We covered and heated in the microwave for a min or two and it was just as good as the day before. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My family enjoyed this, my daughter couldn't get enough. I think it may need a little tweeking to make it a five star recipe. It clumps up quickly, I am going to try adding milk or sour cream next time to try and prevent the clumping. The flavor was very nice though and I will be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I really like this. It had a lot of flavor, and it was very simple. For my personal taste I added a tablespoon more of cream cheese and Parmesan cheese. It is one of those recipes where you can eyeball all the measurements and taste as you go, and have it still turn out fantastic! Also the pimientos shouldn't be skipped they added a really nice flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was excellent. Great flavor and a nice texture. The only thing I did differently is I did not add the pimientos...I'm just not a fan. I'm sure that would add to the visual appearance but who cares when it tastes this good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Dee Dee Matthews
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Like the previous reviewer, I forgot to add the green onions during the boiling process. However, I inadvertently added them to the cream cheese mixture and it still turned out well! A nice dish for presentation. This is definitely something you want to serve immediately after you make it. If you allow it to sit with the intentions of re-heating later, it loses the creamy texture and starts to clump a bit. Either way, the taste of the cream cheese defintely makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Even though I had all my ingredients laid out and ready to go it wasn't until after dinner that I noticed the chopped green onion never made it into the dish. But this orzo was so pretty, so creamy and delicious, that the green onion wasn't even missed. I'm sure it would have been even prettier, with the contrast of the red pimiento, and even tastier, had I remembered to add it. What I DID think to do was add a little butter with the other ingredients, which made for a rich, velvety sauce. Whether you remember to add the green onion, whether you choose to add a dab of butter, this is just plain good, and went perfectly with the Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp and Dill and Butter Squash (both recipes also from this site) I served this with. I would NOT suggest, however, not including the pimiento, which really was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States