Parmesan Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I wish I could say that my chicken was fabulous like the other reviewer (Chad), but it wasn't. In the other review, it was stated that cooking spray was used instead of oil and the butter was reduced. I did the same thing, and I had almost NO flavor. That was obviously not the recipe submitter's fault, and so my rating is not based on that. The part of the problem, for me, that caused the three star rating is that I think the breading process is missing the flour step. I did the best I could to get the chicken coated, but the egg didn't want to cling to the chicken, and therefore, the breadcrumbs didn't cling either. As a result, I only used about half the breadcrumbs. Since that's where the spices were, only half the spices actually got used, which is probably another reason why my chicken was bland. I also had parts where the egg did stick, but the breadcrumbs fell off, leaving cooked egg on the outside of the chicken. So, I wound up with a thin, somewhat patchy crust and not much in the way of flavor. The recipe submitter says you can tailor the spices to suit your individual tastes, and I guess that's really what should be done here. Also, if I do try this one again, I'll definitely coat the chicken with flour before it goes into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Juicy and very very good. I used a lemon rosemary breadcrumb mix because that's what I had, and upped it a bit. I also used 2 tsp of lemon juice that I mixed with the egg. To make it healthier, I used Pam instead of oil and I used less butter, about 2 tsp. I used chicken tenderloins, so it needed about 5-10 more minutes of cooking time, but the result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Though it is easy to make there are flaws in the breading makeing the chicken bland. After making several changes I was able to spruce it up. I would recommend dipping in lemon juice fallowed buy flower then egg before the breading. As a result the breading and spices stick better and the lemon juice makes a much needed flavor improvement as well using powered parm instead of shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
i made a few modifications that made this dish come out very well! first, i marinated the b/s chicken breasts in freshly squeezed lemon juice for a few hours in the fridge. i used plain breadcrumbs, but simply added in italian seasoning. i also dipped the chicken breasts in flour first, then egg, then the breadcrumb mix. then i quickly pan fried them in some vegetable oil first for a few minutes and then finished them off in the oven, without the butter. it was really flavorful and moist and juicy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great recipe! The only thing I did diferent was use mayonnaise instead of egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Really quick and so tasty! I used fresh grated parmesan anf panko bread crumbs(our fav)...just added some Italian herb blend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe to taste and I thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
parmesan goes great on so many things! I squeezed lemon on before coating with breadcrumbs etc.... turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Yum, this is a wonderful recipe. I used lemon pepper seasoning (without salt in it) and also added some red pepper flakes. Did as others suggested and dipped the chicken in flour then egg then breading and got a nice thick crispy crust on the chicken. Thanks so much for the quick, easy and delicious recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States