Parmesan Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I hate to be the "critic" here, but I was not all that impressed with this recipe. I've seen similar "knots" at Fresh Market (FM is very similar to a Whole Foods store, for those of you who have not heard of the chain) and thought to myself, "I can make these at home WAAAAY cheaper." Yes, that's true, but do they taste as good... NO!!! Preparation couldn't have been any easier, though. I ended up purchasing a small tube of large (i.e. Grand's) biscuits. There were a total of 5 biscuits, so after halving each, I ended up with 10 knots. Although my fiance enjoyed these (he had 7 of them!), he suggested that doubling the oil/cheese/herb mixture might have made these better (there was barely enough mixture to spread on what I had, so I see his point). Besides being dry, I also thought these were quite bland. For that reason, I am not sure that doubling up on the topping would make a difference (?). Overall, this was a nice idea, but not at all what I was expecting or hoping for. Thanks for sharing your idea anyways, Cathy :) A lot of reviewers seem to like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was delicious! The family really loved it! I added a bit more garlic and used butter instead of oil. When I use this again I think I may try it with crescent rolls or breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wow! The flavor of the topping is delicate, which makes it an awesome choice to go alongside your favorite Italian dishes. I'd give these more stars if I could. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I cut this down to ten servings, which used half a container of biscuits and made ten "knots". I used melted butter (I'm out of oil right now) and doubled the spices only because when you cut the recipe down, it dosen't come out to be a whole lot of spices. These went really well with my Zuppa Toscana. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I used margarine instead of oil. These were super easy and just like the ones at the local pizza place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yum! SO simple and delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Yummy! I'd give it a 4 1/2 but they don't allow it! I had to scale down the recipe to 20 servings so I only had to use 1 can of biscuits. The only change I did was I brushed melted butter on them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Super easy! I made them for a nig family dinner and EVERYONE raved about them. Fast and easy. I would definatly make them again. However I did use more parmesan cheese afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Delicious with homemade pizza, way better than anything you can get from a pizza place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I use butter instead of oil when I make these and whatever kind of rolls I have on hand. I have used biscuits, crescents and bread sticks and all have worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States