Parmesan Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I cut this in half to make one loaf. I proofed the yeast in my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes. After the ten minutes, I added the melted butter, then the dry ingredients and seasoning. I needed to add another 1/4 cup of flour to get it to completely form into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded it with the bread hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased, covered bowl for a couple of hours on a hot oven. I had a heck of a time getting it to rise. After it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again in the bread pan on the warm oven. It took another couple hours to rise. It baked up well, it just kind of seemed like a balloon that lost it's air. The loaf came out with crusty sides and the texture inside was similar to a beer bread. I did add a half tsp. of garlic powder when I added the spices, I made no other changes. Next time, I'll read through the whole recipe before I try it, a novel concept. I was tired. I served this with Pepperoni Casserole. Not our favorite bread, but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This bread is absolutely delicious! I make it in the bread maker and cut it from 20 servings to 15 servings and it fit very nicely. The oregano and parmesan add a unique twist that me and my husband loved! We will definitely be making this again and again! Oh, and I tried it as a crust for pizza and it was too was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was delicious and super easy to make. We ate about half the loaf right out of the oven. A bit dry the second day, but awesome toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
YUM! This is awesome recipe. I add additional parmesan cheese on top before baking. It's a big hit with the bread co-op I participate in! It's so easy. And yes, make sure you just trust the recipe, even though it looks like it's not right, just try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
You do need to trust this recipe. The dough will be really slack and you will literally pour it into the casserole, but it works! It has a crisp crust and a very moist crumb and is wonderful toasted. I used mixed Italian seasoning and didn't measure the cheese, just dumped in a bunch. My husband's verdict? "Remember how you did this!" A great recipe for when you want bread but don't really feel like baking. It's that easy! Make sure you grease the casserole really well so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is excellent bread. I didn't enjoy it so much when it was hot, but the next day - toasted with butter - oh man. Awesome! I was really skeptical heading into this. Bread with no kneading? But wow. I made this EXACTLY as the recipe outlined (I even just hand-stirred it very briefly for the second addition of flour). This needs NO TWEAKING. It really does look like batter, not regular bread dough. Do not panic! It works out fiiiine. Trust me. It has an excellent crust, and a moist, somewhat crumbly (but not bisquit-y) crumb. I will be making this again, if only for use as toast! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I gave this a 5-Star because it has 5-star potential. I followed the recipe as published, using my bread maker. First, I added some chopped garlic, about a clove, or maybe 2 tsp of the garlic in a jar. GREAT addition. However, my experience was that the 2 cups of water called for is WAY too much. I had to add an aditional 2-3 cups of flour. And because I added so much more flour, it diluted the parmesan and oregano taste (I should have realized that when I was adding the flour; duh). So next time to fix all of my problems, I'm gonna add 1 cup of water, and only more as needed. I'll add the garlic, and do the rest as directed. Oh and I put some parmesan cheese in some butter and smeared it all over the top once it came out of the oven. AWESOME! Other than all the trouble with the water, it was really wonderful and in fact, this bread was what we had for dinner. Just the bread!! I think I'm gonna make some more of this right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This bread turned out pretty good, it looked very nice when it came out of the oven & smelled awesome while it was baking. The only alteration I made was to use an asiago/romano/parmesan cheese combo. Next time the only thing I will do differently is to maybe let it cook for just 2 or 3 minutes longer in hopes that it wil crisp up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I love how easy and great this recipe turns out every time... I even used wheat flour! Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States