Parmesan Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I have made this recipe a number of times. My family loves it. For the person who didn't like it the next day, try toasting it and adding butter. We have gone through an entire loaf this way in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great recipe. I was looking for a bread to make to use up some pepperoni. I halved the recipe and used Rapid Rise yeast. I added the Rapid Rise yeast to all the dry ingredients, except the cheese and pepperoni, stirred it all together. Heated up the water and margarine to 120* and added it to the dry ingredients, stirring together. Using my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook attachment, I kneaded the dough for a minute or two, then add the cheese and about 1/3 cup chopped up pepperoni and kneaded another minute or two, just until it formed a ball. I removed the dough hook and covered the mixing bowl with a towel and let it sit for 10 minutes. I greased a 1-1/2 quart casserole and placed the dough that I shaped into a ball in it and covered for 1 hour. I sprinkled the top with some of the cheese and baked it for 45 minutes at 350*, then removed from dish to a wire rack. Using just a little more margarine, I coated the top. Not only did it look beautiful, it tasted great. This is a keeper...and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2000
I make this bread on a regular basis. It is great with cheese and pepperoni as suggested. My mother in law loves it plain as well. If it's a pasta night in our house, this bread is usually on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This is a good tasting bread....but only when eaten immediately. I didn't find it tasted very good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
The first time I made this I liked it. The second time I doubled up on the oregano, added basil, whole garlic cloves, extra parmesan...the results were amazing...we LOVED it. It makes a really great grilled garlic bread as well as a mini pizza. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
You do need to trust this recipe. The dough will be really slack and you will literally pour it into the casserole, but it works! It has a crisp crust and a very moist crumb and is wonderful toasted. I used mixed Italian seasoning and didn't measure the cheese, just dumped in a bunch. My husband's verdict? "Remember how you did this!" A great recipe for when you want bread but don't really feel like baking. It's that easy! Make sure you grease the casserole really well so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this bread recently to go with Herbed Chicken Pasta from this site. I messed up a little during the rising step, but it still came out crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. I did use Italian seasoning blend instead of just oregano and added extra Parmesan cheese. Anyway turned out great and I'll be making this again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I used this recipe to make the Pepperoni Bread and it is absolutely delicious. I will diffently make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My BF made this exchanging half the flour for whole wheat and the other with bread flour. Used homegrown rosemary and substituted butter. Baked it in a 9 1/2" springform pan and it was the best bread I've ever eaten. We aren't normally bread eaters but I wanted to try his bread since he'd been making mention of his bread making experiences for years, now. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Very nice! Good consistancy, and quite flavourful. I'm pretty sure I used more then a 1/2 cup of Parm. (Didn't measure, just dumped :) I wanted a really nice strong herb flavor, so for ease, I just used some Italian seasoning, which worked GREAT! Thanx for sharing this great recipe. Will deffinetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States