Parmesan Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHAQPOWER
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Great recipe! Just added some garlic along with the Parmesan and left out the lecithin, and it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
My mixer had a hard time processing the dough the way the recipe is written. The dough was tough, not forming and kept making my bread machine's paddle jam. Maybe it is the altitude (I'm at about 3000ft) or our mixer brand (mine is a Breadman). What I did, after reading the reviews and some desperate googling, was add at least a half a cup more water to the mix and add 1/2 tsp of proofed yeast to the dough. I restarted my dough cycle for the water and extra yeast adding session. Add your water slowly, until it starts to look properly dough-like. I also split my loaf into two like the other reviews; worked like a charm. Another thing is I did not add the lecithin, only because I don't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this today and it was WONDERFUL!! I substituted canned tomato juice for the water and added basil and parsley. The recipe was too big for one 8" pan. Next time I will use 2 pans instead of one. I served this with BBQ pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Super easy and restaurant quality. I just used regular flour and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Well, I didn't have lecithin and I wonder if that is the reason my bread got fluffier than normal focaccia. It was good, just not dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This bread was DELICIOUS! My husband ate half the loaf when he got home from work. It smelled great baking in the oven. Using a bread machine for me is cheating, so I made it by hand. I dissolved the sugar into the warm water (110-115 F) and added the yeast to that and let it sit for 5 minutes until it was foamy. Then, I added the salt, only HALF the oregano and olive oil and mixed well. I skipped the lecithin, didn't have it. Then I added the flour a cup at a time. I taught myself how to bake bread by hand, and I'm pretty good at it now. A tip...never add ALL of the flour at once. You may not even use the entire amount. Humidity and many other factors can change how much flour you end up needing! Mix in a cup at a time until its incorporated and you have a very sticky dough. Then, turn out onto a well-floured surface (I use a cutting board to minimize mess) cover with more flour and knead, adding more flour a little at a time until it is no longer sticky. Knead the flour in. It will take a while, but you have to do it until it is smooth textured and elastic (it pulls and stretches, doesn't come apart). Then, I let it sit in an oven that was turned on for about 30 seconds, and let it rise for 1 to 1-1/2 hours in the oven. I followed the recipe after that step. I added garlic powder and cracked pepper to the olive oil before baking. It turned out beautiful and perfect. A crispier crust, and a nice, fluffy interior. Definitely will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliedkop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Chien, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at focaccia though I've made a lot of bread. I reduced the amount of flour to 3 cups, added basil, oregano, and minced garlic (1 tsp each) and also about 3/4 c of sliced black olives to the dough. Like others I made two round pans, not one, reduce the amount of olive oil, by rolling each dough ball in the oil and maybe pouring over 1 or 2 tbsp over each loaf with a large whack of fresh grated parmesan. Brushed it with a little more olive oil when it came out of the oven. Definately a keeper recipe...warm out of the oven with a little butter...To. Die. For. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great bread. I gave 4 stars only but the results results with modifications made it a 5 star bread. The water amount is a huge issue with this recipe. Thanks to previous reviewers for the heads up. I started out with 2.5 c water. It's easier to add more flour than it is to add liquid to bread dough. The result was a lovely soft dough. I made it into one large round but next time, I'll make it into two rounds. As per other reviewers, I added some Parmesan to the dough but I don't believe the results justified doing so. Next time I will reverse steps #3 and 4 (I'll increase the cheese), then set it to rise - see if I can get more of that flavor poked down into the bread. Great crust. All our guests had second pieces of the bread. We'll toast what's left for breakfast this morning. I served the bread with Manicotti Italian Casserole and a green salad. Made an excellent meal for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Mmmm.... SOOO good!!! Made this to serve with Jamie's minestrone. There's nothing better than a steaming bowl of soup with hearty slices of warm, homemade bread. :) While my fiance and I both liked this, I do think I'll make a couple of changes (i.e. improvements) next time. The most obvious change I'll make is to add Parmesan cheese to my bread dough AND as a topping (be sure to use fresh - it makes ALL the difference). And, per my fiance's suggestion, I'll use a 9 x 13 in. pan (slices are too thick otherwise). My fiance commentd that the best part was the crust, but that the actual "bread" itself was bland (I agree). That didn't stop us from having seconds tho! My only change was to sprinkle a generous amount of coarse sea salt over the top (everything is better with salt!) and substitute roasted garlic EVOO for plain EVOO (1/3 c. is waaay too much; I ended up draining it from my bread pan BEFORE placing in the oven!). NOTE: My bread took about a half hour to rise and 25 minutes to bake to a lovely golden brown color (it rose perfectly and was nice and crusty on the outside!!!). I set my pan on top of my stove while it was preheating. It was the heat, I believe, that helped my bread rise so beautifully. Dipping pieces of this in our soup and in Italian butter was DIVINE! I think spreading slices with pesto would also be yummy!!! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe with me, Sandra. This is a BEAUTIFUL bread, and with a little tweaking, it will be superb! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I loved the texture of this bread just to much oregano for me. I will play with this and make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States