Parmesan Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was not a winner when I first made it but I knew it could be redeemed with a little tweaking. Here are the changes I made to make it a winner: 1) Slice chicken breasts into 1 inch strips, sear in 1 stick of butter until just browned. Put half of the rice mixture on the bottom of the crockpot. Pour chicken / butter mixture into crock pot. Put about 3/4 c. shredded parmesan on top. Pour the rest of the over the rice / soup mixture on top. Cook on LOW for about 3 hours but no more or the chicken will dry out. High should not be used at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Well I was kinda nervous making this, with some of the mixed reviews I read, but I was very pleasantly surprised. I omitted the rice altogether, as we're not big rice fans. I also used an Onion/Mushroom dry soup mix. I only had three fat boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but didn't alter the amount of liquid. I sprayed my crock pot dish with Pam. Put a pat of butter on each breast, poured the soup mixture on top of that and lotsa parmesan on top of that and turned it on Low for about 8-9 hours. De-Lish-Us. Made up some egg noodles and green peas and a salad and scarfed it all up. This one went into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I was so excited to make a chicken crock pot recipe with these ingredients that SHOULD HAVE tasted wonderful. What a disapointment it didn't turn out as I had hoped. The rice turned to mush and the parmasean burned in the pot (cooked on low for 8 hours) plus it was WAY TOO SALTY. The chicken on the other hand was absolutely WONDERFUL! If (and I mean if) I make this again, I'll do it with 1/2 the onion soup mix and more milk in the soup. Leave out the rice and cook seperately then serve your mixture on top or on noodles. Proceed with caution if you make this recipe and be prepared for a mixed result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I found this recipe to be great and I have made it many times. I read a few negative reviews, lots of which saying that it's too salty. My answer to that is not to use canned chicken broth. Instead, try using homemade chicken stock (Chicken carcass, carrots, celery, onions, cold water, thyme, rosemary, sage and simmered for 3 or 4 hours then strained.). Also, as someone commented, NEVER cook on high, always on low heat and for about 6 hours and the chicken turns out really tender and the rice is just right. I really loved this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I reiterate the EASINESS in this recipe!! I just got a new crock pot for mother's day and this was the first recipe I wanted to try...what a treat!! It turned out wonderfully! Not only would I recommend, but I will make again. It's so nice to whip something together, throw it in the crock pot and not worry until later. However, just a note, I cooked mine on "high" setting and my meal was done in 3 hours oppossed to the 4-6 hours the recipe recommends. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was good, but I was glad that I was home all day. Even with following the recipe amounts I had to stir it several times during the cooking to make sure that everything mixed together well. Don't get me wrong the chicken was very moist and tender and the rice cooked very well. I will definately make this again. I did add some asiago cheese for more of a cheesy taste. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Yeah, I agree, this recipe is not very appealing to look at. Better off just putting your chicken, onion soup mix and a couple of cans of the soup in the crock pot. You'll get a nice gravy which you can then serve OVER rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is SO EASY and is a hugh hit with our family! I love to make this very easy recipe and just throw all of the ingredients in the crockpot and wait for it to cook. I'm a vegetarian so it is great when you need to make a couple of meals at a time because it is so simple and fast and everyone I've ever made it for just loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This receipe is so easy to make plus it tastes great. This is one of the best I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good, reliable crock pot dinner. I normally hate chicken in the crock pot, bc it's usually very dry and never has a great flavor. This recipe has a great parmesan flavor. The chicken was really moist and although the rice was a tad too mushy, the flavor made up for it. Based on other reviews, I made some of my own changes that worked out pretty well- I used 4 chicken breasts and only about 4 tbsp. of butter. I also mixed the "sauce" without adding the rice to it, and poured half over the chicken, sprinkling the top with a little grated parm. I mixed the rice with the remaining amount of sauce and set aside. I put the timer on for 2 hours (cooking on low), and then added the sauce/rice mixture & cooked for another 2 hours on low. I also reserved 1/4 cup fresh shredded parm to sprinkle on top for the last 2 hours. I would recommend not adding the rice until the last hour or half hour... I think it would be perfectly cooked that way and still taste good. Overall, though, an excellent, easy dinner. Oh, and I just used whatever long grain rice I had in the cabinet and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States