Parmesan Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Didn't really like these followed exactly maybe I used the wrong brand of parmesan but they were crunchy/mealy if that makes sense. Flavor itself was good but not the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
In my experience, the texture of cheese straws vs breadsticks: Cheese straws = sort of crumbly, rich, dry Breadsticks = can be crunchy or soft, not rich If you're expecting cheese straws, that's definitely what you'll get with this recipe, not "breadsticks." I'm not a huge cheese straw fan but we were about out of groceries, and I didn't have time to go to the store so I needed something quick to make with basic ingredients. They were a hit at the picnic I brought them to though. I added oregano and basil to the dough. Also, I forgot to brush one of the batches with milk and actually liked those better! Instead I should've added it to the dough to make it more pliable and less fragile -- it wasn't impossible to work with but I had to be careful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I took them to a large pot luck dinner and received rave reviews. I think I'll try a cookie press or try to roll them into 'straws' for the next batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Easy to make, especially if forced through a cookie press. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved them! Not really like breadsticks though. More like a crumbly buttery cracker. After brushing them with milk I sprinkled more cheese on some and garlic powder on other. I loved the cayenne. It gave them just a tiny amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These sticks really came out bad... I had to mix them into the sauce to get them down and in a house of seven, that's a bad sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I was not impressed. They didn't look appealing and the taste was pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were okay, but I wouldn't make again. Very dry, fell apart easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
A definete hit, they are dry but that's the way we like them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balham, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Bridport, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These were great! I've never made cheese straws before, and was afraid how they would turn out. A few minutes before baking, I sprinkled a pinch of cheese on each as a garnish. This made them look much more professional. It doesnt really matter the shape or demension; just shape them how you would like to. I shaped mine thick, and it just meant they had to be cooke longer. Also, i found the dough a bit loose, so I added a bit of milk. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States