Parmesan Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Didn't really like these followed exactly maybe I used the wrong brand of parmesan but they were crunchy/mealy if that makes sense. Flavor itself was good but not the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
In my experience, the texture of cheese straws vs breadsticks: Cheese straws = sort of crumbly, rich, dry Breadsticks = can be crunchy or soft, not rich If you're expecting cheese straws, that's definitely what you'll get with this recipe, not "breadsticks." I'm not a huge cheese straw fan but we were about out of groceries, and I didn't have time to go to the store so I needed something quick to make with basic ingredients. They were a hit at the picnic I brought them to though. I added oregano and basil to the dough. Also, I forgot to brush one of the batches with milk and actually liked those better! Instead I should've added it to the dough to make it more pliable and less fragile -- it wasn't impossible to work with but I had to be careful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I took them to a large pot luck dinner and received rave reviews. I think I'll try a cookie press or try to roll them into 'straws' for the next batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Easy to make, especially if forced through a cookie press. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved them! Not really like breadsticks though. More like a crumbly buttery cracker. After brushing them with milk I sprinkled more cheese on some and garlic powder on other. I loved the cayenne. It gave them just a tiny amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These sticks really came out bad... I had to mix them into the sauce to get them down and in a house of seven, that's a bad sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I was not impressed. They didn't look appealing and the taste was pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were okay, but I wouldn't make again. Very dry, fell apart easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
A definete hit, they are dry but that's the way we like them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balham, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Bridport, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These were great! I've never made cheese straws before, and was afraid how they would turn out. A few minutes before baking, I sprinkled a pinch of cheese on each as a garnish. This made them look much more professional. It doesnt really matter the shape or demension; just shape them how you would like to. I shaped mine thick, and it just meant they had to be cooke longer. Also, i found the dough a bit loose, so I added a bit of milk. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States