Parmesan Broccoli Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Didn't need to cook the broccoli because it was thawed. Made the changes recommended by others: more cheese and less eggs and butter. Everyone liked them a lot, but me - I didn't care for them. I'm not a big boxed stuffing fan so that is probably why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
These are really delicious! I modified based on the reviews I read here: more parmesan cheese (3/4 cup), less onion, only 4 eggs, half the butter, and double the stuffing. GREAT results. I think it needed the extra stuffing, to bind up the wet ingredients and make them keep their shape. Once you take the mixture out of the fridge to make the balls, give it a good stir to really get the wet ingredients mold-able. The flavor is great. Really delicious and a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Very good recipe! Since broccoli is among my favorite foods, I was hoping they would have more of a broccoli flavor (I know I'm probably in the minority there!). I can definitely see how non-broccoli lovers would still enjoy this dish -- the more finely chopped the broccoli, the less you can tell it's even in there. For that reason I'll probably use bigger pieces next time -- I can only imagine how good this would be with fresh broccoli. I did cut back on the butter to 1/2 cup to keep down the fat and calories, and added some minced garlic which blended nicely with the other flavors. I think they'd be even better with a greater amount of parmesan. Thanks for this crowd-pleasing, easy-to-make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
These were very tastey, they would taste great paired with ritz crackers. The only thing I would do differently is to add more cheese. A great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
These are really good. Kind of fatty, but I cut it down to 4 eggs and just did a stick of margarine (probably don't even need that much) and they still turned out really good. Kind of like a casserole in a ball. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Excellent! My children (5 and 1) devoured it and hardly realized it was full of broccoli. Next time I will dice the broccoli a little finer to make a smoother texture and I will reduce the butter a bit but otherwise this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I cannot believe how good these are!! I only made them because I had half a box of stuffing that needed using up, but they are SO good that I'm going to make them for Thanksgiving dinner next week (and plenty of other times too)! The only changes I made were to use extra-sharp Cheddar (I mistakenly thought I had Parm), and also fresh brocc (I can't stand the frozen stuff). Although they were pretty easy to form into balls, you could easily just spread the mixture in a dish, and bake as directed. I'm also thinking of making them with broccoli and cauliflower. This is a fantastic recipe. Thanks so much, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
These were pretty good, but my family has always made them with two 10 oz. packaged of chopped spinach and no onion, and I like those better. Also, I baked a few of these before letting them sit, and not only was the stuffing still hard, but they leaked. Letting the mixture sit is definitely a vital step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I didn't have any problems with putting these together and they were a big hit at my party! I had a few left over and put them in the fridge overnight. They were just as good as a snack the next day! mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Easy and delicious! I saved myself a dish and some time by just covering the frozen broccoli in a large bowl w/ saran wrap and microwaved for 7 minutes, then let it drain and cool in a collander while I mixed the ingredients in that same large bowl. I used 16 oz. of chopped broccoli, 3/4 cup Parmesan, and 1.5 pkgs. of the stuffing, but kept the eggs and margarine the same. I subbed 1/4 cup dried minced onions and did garlic powder, not garlic salt, at 3/4 tsp. I made the balls slightly larger, so I ended up with 26 total. Everyone at a potluck gobbled them up and one person asked for the recipe. For something that looks like "nothing special," it sure turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States