Parmesan Basil Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummy and savory! I nearly doubled-up on the basil (per someone's suggestion) and I should not have; they're pretty basilly. Everything else was perfect. We had ours with country chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
really good even day old just warm them in the micro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was very easy to follow, and the biscuits turned out great! Even my hubby liked them and he's pickier than anyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Fantastic biscuits! I like that it calls for olive oil instead of butter. I used whole wheat flour instead of white and increased the baking powder by just a bit to compensate. I didn't have shredded Parmesan cheese so I used the grated kind that comes in the container. I also didn't have fresh basil so I used dried... non-measured... just what looked good to me. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were good. Try putting in different fresh herbs depending on what your making. They are good everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made these tonight and thought they were fantastic! Not dry as others have said and even without butter or shortening, they were tender. I worked hard at not over mixing! I think this is the key. Will make these again and again for a quick bread in the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Unlike what usually happens around here, I actually had exactly the ingredients called for. I measured carefully and ended up with a dough that was very dry. I thought about adding some liquid, but wasn't certain which one (water or more buttermilk) nor how much. While it sat on my counter waiting for me to figure out what to do, I noted that the dough started to improve. I suspect, like when I'm making bread (also recently learned), it may need time for the dough to absorb the liquid and distribute it. In any case, after about 10 or 15 minutes the dough was more pliable. However, since I can't roll worth beans, I elected to make the biscuits in the "clover" form. That involves rolling walnut (in the shell) sized balls and putting 3 of them in a non-stick or pam sprayed muffin tin and then baking. The results were fine at 400 Degrees F and about 17 minutes. The taste, though, was bland, though the texture was quite nice. Since I was using reduced fat buttermilk (as per the directions), I wonder if using regular buttermilk might improve the flavor. Or possibly a little more salt. The pepper in the recipe wasn't noticeable at all, and I don't like pepper. So maybe it too needed to be increased. I do know I'd definitely increase the basil as it might not have even been in the biscuits for all the flavor it imparted. Actually, I had a little bit over the called for 2 tbsp to begin with but think I might increase to at least 3 tbsp. Other than added fat from the cheese, none of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I didn't like them, but that's probably because I'm not very partial to biscuits with herbs in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Tasty ... especially when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States