Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is very good. I was a little skeptical, but everyone, even my picky five-year-old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good but will probably use less Parmesan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Yum-o! Made this for dinner tonight. My fiance plays softball on Fri. His games have been late in the eve. recently. When my fiance plays late, there is usually time for dinner, but it must be "light" (my fiance doesn't like to play on a full stomach). Janet's recipe fit the bill perfectly!!! My best description of this can be likened to pesto - fresh & slightly garlicky. I did make a couple of changes that may have contributed to the salad's pesto-like flavor. I added a very sm. yellow onion to my mayo (light variety / 1/2 c. worth) / celery / garlic / basil mix. and used 2 VERY large cloves of garlic (we love the stuff!). I used my little food chopper to pulse everything. This made for a slightly crunchy base (as opposed to using a fp). I set aside 2 chicken breasts earlier this wk. with the intention of making cajun chicken sandwiches (also on this site), but never got around to making them. I didn't want to waste good meat, so I seasoned both breasts with s&p and microwaved in an 850 watt oven for just a little under 10 min. I allowed everything to cool, chopped and added to my mayo mix. Perfect! Oh, and I splurged and bought fresh grated Parm (canned - yuck!). Served "sandwich-style" on artisan Tuscan herb formaggio bread (second splurge!) with a side of parmesan garlic pretzel chips and biscotti that I picked up at my local Italian market. So good! Thanks for sharing, Janet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This has an excellent fresh taste to it. I substituted cucumbers for the celery, but didn't puree them, just diced them into the salad. It still had crunch but added another level of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
What a fantastic recipe. I did make a couple of changes: I made a pesto of basil, garlic, toasted pine nuts and walnuts, and parmesan cheese, which I combined with the mayo. I didn't puree the celery so that the salad would have some texture and crunch. Everyone raved over this one. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Kind of bland.. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have made this twice and while I love basil and chicken salad something is not meeting my expectations. I always love to try new chicken salad recipes, but this as is not a favorite for me. I think will try it again,but grill the chicken with a little seasoning. I think it will give it the flavor it needs. What an inspiring recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was delicious. I served inside a sliced tomato although lettuce would have worked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I don't like fruit in my chicken salad, so this was perfect for me. I boiled the chicken breasts with onion, garlic, fresh rosemary, and basil. To cut down on calories, I used 1/2 C. light mayo and 1/2 plain yogurt. I loved the parmesan, but some people felt it was too overpowering. I will probably omit next time because I think it would be just as good without it. Thanks for a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was wonderful! I was in a hurry so I cooked the chicken breasts in my pressure cooker with a boullion cube, a bit of salt and a bay leaf. Made the rest while it was cooking. I added some red pepper, and just chopped the basil etc fine instead of pureeing it- which worked fine and gives it a nice texture. Did as several reviewers suggested and made it with half mayo and half sour cream - forgot the garlic but tasted great without it! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States