Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
YUM. I followed this recipe exactly except I skipped pureeing (I LIKE stuff chunky). The full amounts of all the ingredients were not at all overpowering for us. I was a little worried about too much mayo, but I decided to go with my crazy idea of following the recipe and I was thrilled with the outcome. We had this on sourdough rolls with tomato and lettuce and it was lovely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Really good chicken salad! I used dried basil because that's what I had on hand with a little italian herbs, really great! I didn't puree the celery because I like a little bit of crunch. The garlic flavor was not that intense, but I like lots of garlic. Had this for dinner last night and will be having for lunch today too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This makes a good chicken salad, but I don't think it's memorable. I skipped pureeing one of the celery stalks for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is very good. I was a little skeptical, but everyone, even my picky five-year-old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good but will probably use less Parmesan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Yum-o! Made this for dinner tonight. My fiance plays softball on Fri. His games have been late in the eve. recently. When my fiance plays late, there is usually time for dinner, but it must be "light" (my fiance doesn't like to play on a full stomach). Janet's recipe fit the bill perfectly!!! My best description of this can be likened to pesto - fresh & slightly garlicky. I did make a couple of changes that may have contributed to the salad's pesto-like flavor. I added a very sm. yellow onion to my mayo (light variety / 1/2 c. worth) / celery / garlic / basil mix. and used 2 VERY large cloves of garlic (we love the stuff!). I used my little food chopper to pulse everything. This made for a slightly crunchy base (as opposed to using a fp). I set aside 2 chicken breasts earlier this wk. with the intention of making cajun chicken sandwiches (also on this site), but never got around to making them. I didn't want to waste good meat, so I seasoned both breasts with s&p and microwaved in an 850 watt oven for just a little under 10 min. I allowed everything to cool, chopped and added to my mayo mix. Perfect! Oh, and I splurged and bought fresh grated Parm (canned - yuck!). Served "sandwich-style" on artisan Tuscan herb formaggio bread (second splurge!) with a side of parmesan garlic pretzel chips and biscotti that I picked up at my local Italian market. So good! Thanks for sharing, Janet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This has an excellent fresh taste to it. I substituted cucumbers for the celery, but didn't puree them, just diced them into the salad. It still had crunch but added another level of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
What a fantastic recipe. I did make a couple of changes: I made a pesto of basil, garlic, toasted pine nuts and walnuts, and parmesan cheese, which I combined with the mayo. I didn't puree the celery so that the salad would have some texture and crunch. Everyone raved over this one. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Kind of bland.. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have made this twice and while I love basil and chicken salad something is not meeting my expectations. I always love to try new chicken salad recipes, but this as is not a favorite for me. I think will try it again,but grill the chicken with a little seasoning. I think it will give it the flavor it needs. What an inspiring recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States