Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe, but did add a half cup of white wine like some of the reviewers suggested. I think that this recipe could use some tweeking. I think it could use a little more salt, garlic, and lemon juice. It was okay; I would play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was pretty good! I was concerned about the amount of mayo because I was afraid the salad would be too runny. However, I used the full amount anyway, and once I pureed it with the other ingredients, it came out a great consistency. The grated Parmesan really helps to soak up the excess moisture. I chopped the chicken up pretty finely, and the end result was almost a paste-like consistency (but in a good way)--closer to the consistency of tuna salad than the usual chunky chicken salad. I liked it. My only criticism is that I really can't taste the chicken at all. It's overwhelmingly Basil/Parmesan/Garlic. It wasn't because I had bland chicken. I used the breast of a rotisserie chicken, and the chicken was extremely flavorful. It would have been nice for some of that flavor to come out in the salad, but it was totally overpowered by the other ingredients. I think next time I'll try halving the amount of Parmesan and garlic. I didn't even use the full amount of basil this time... just however much was in the little package I got from the store. I may use less basil next time, too. I think the ingredients would complement the chicken quite well, in less abundant quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
loved it , and my kids eat it up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I didn't need the whole cup of mayo, I just added a 1/4 cup at a time until it was where I wanted it. I used lowfat mayo and fresh grated parmesan cheese. Pretty tasty. My littlest ate his sandwich and part of mine, so that was a win in itself. Great with sliced tomatoes on WW bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
VERY VERY Good. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I agree with others, do not puree. I like my celery crunchy and I did count down on the basil to 1/2 cup. I also used 2/3 cup mayo. I added a lil chopped onion, my preference. I did like the taste of cheese in it. Oh, I threw in some thyme. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I think the basil is very over powering. I am going to try to make it agin with maybe a quarter of what the receipe calls for next time. The puree came out almost green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
YUM. I followed this recipe exactly except I skipped pureeing (I LIKE stuff chunky). The full amounts of all the ingredients were not at all overpowering for us. I was a little worried about too much mayo, but I decided to go with my crazy idea of following the recipe and I was thrilled with the outcome. We had this on sourdough rolls with tomato and lettuce and it was lovely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Really good chicken salad! I used dried basil because that's what I had on hand with a little italian herbs, really great! I didn't puree the celery because I like a little bit of crunch. The garlic flavor was not that intense, but I like lots of garlic. Had this for dinner last night and will be having for lunch today too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This makes a good chicken salad, but I don't think it's memorable. I skipped pureeing one of the celery stalks for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States