Pareve Cholent Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I am sorry SuperRebbetzin but I did not care for your recipe. I went to a lot of trouble to get the ingredients, spent quite a while cutting everything up and sorting and washing the beans. The result after cooking it last night was a dry, strange-tasting, brownish-black, gluey mixture. I am an experienced cook and followed you recipe exactly. Is there a mistake in the recipe? I have to mark a star but I wouldn't even give it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
perhaps the previous reviewer is just unfamiliar with cholent but cholent generally does turn brown and lose some of its distinct form. i sometimes like to add a pareve kishka to the recipe and then break it up and stir it in right before i serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I based a vegetarian cholent off this recipe and it was a big hit. However, I omitted the sweet potatoes and added a little barley and rice to thicken it up. I think I've found a new fav. shabbos cholent recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This came out fantastic! I added a little more potatoes and some more water to even it out. It came out just right and a delicious cholent! Thank you so much for making my Shabbos so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Perhaps it was the barbecue sauce (Jack Daniels Original), but this was a genuine disappointment... not a recipe that I ever plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It was great! we were thrilled to find this recipe and try it out! My husband really liked it and the kids did too. I put it in the crockpot mid-friday afternoon and had for lunch on saturday. It was great, texture was good and flavor delicious. I wasnt able to get the beets before making it, but am looking forward to trying it with some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
You gotta love cholent in the first place, but this is a great and easy recipe. I had chick peas and not white beans so I made that change. I also added a uncooked eggs in the shell to lay on top of the cholent mixture so they cook with the cholent. When done they come out a delicious brown inside and out and make a nice addition to your Shabbat lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a kind of comfort food! I loved the combination of the beans, barley, potatoes and onions! I used pinto beans instead of the kidney beans, changed the ketchup and BBQ sauce to be tomato sauce, and omitted the brown sugar. I didn't cook this all day, but cooked the beans and barley, then added the rest of the ingredients; when the liquid had cooked in, the flavors had combined nicely! I found that the inventor of the Crock Pot™ developed that with memories of his mother telling his grandmother's stories about cholent cooking all day, so I had to find out what cholent was! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States