Pareve Cholent Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a kind of comfort food! I loved the combination of the beans, barley, potatoes and onions! I used pinto beans instead of the kidney beans, changed the ketchup and BBQ sauce to be tomato sauce, and omitted the brown sugar. I didn't cook this all day, but cooked the beans and barley, then added the rest of the ingredients; when the liquid had cooked in, the flavors had combined nicely! I found that the inventor of the Crock Pot™ developed that with memories of his mother telling his grandmother's stories about cholent cooking all day, so I had to find out what cholent was! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
You gotta love cholent in the first place, but this is a great and easy recipe. I had chick peas and not white beans so I made that change. I also added a uncooked eggs in the shell to lay on top of the cholent mixture so they cook with the cholent. When done they come out a delicious brown inside and out and make a nice addition to your Shabbat lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It was great! we were thrilled to find this recipe and try it out! My husband really liked it and the kids did too. I put it in the crockpot mid-friday afternoon and had for lunch on saturday. It was great, texture was good and flavor delicious. I wasnt able to get the beets before making it, but am looking forward to trying it with some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Perhaps it was the barbecue sauce (Jack Daniels Original), but this was a genuine disappointment... not a recipe that I ever plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This came out fantastic! I added a little more potatoes and some more water to even it out. It came out just right and a delicious cholent! Thank you so much for making my Shabbos so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I based a vegetarian cholent off this recipe and it was a big hit. However, I omitted the sweet potatoes and added a little barley and rice to thicken it up. I think I've found a new fav. shabbos cholent recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
perhaps the previous reviewer is just unfamiliar with cholent but cholent generally does turn brown and lose some of its distinct form. i sometimes like to add a pareve kishka to the recipe and then break it up and stir it in right before i serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I am sorry SuperRebbetzin but I did not care for your recipe. I went to a lot of trouble to get the ingredients, spent quite a while cutting everything up and sorting and washing the beans. The result after cooking it last night was a dry, strange-tasting, brownish-black, gluey mixture. I am an experienced cook and followed you recipe exactly. Is there a mistake in the recipe? I have to mark a star but I wouldn't even give it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States