Parchment Salmon Packages with Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I love salmon and am always looking for a new way to make it. My daughter & I made this together. This came out awesome. The salmon was very flavorful and the asparagus was done perfectly (not too hard or too soft). Really nice presentation if you have company over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I loved the concept of this recipe. I made the sauce as directed. Before putting it on the fish, I added more mayo because I found the dijon too overpowering. I also increased the amount of tarragon and dill. My salmon filets were 8 oz and I kept them in the oven for 20 minutes. Because I needed to increase the cooking time, I steamed the asparagus separately from the salmon packets. Wonderful. I may just make it for Easter Dinner. I am hosting this year and my brother in law is a chef! This may be my chef worthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Excellent way to cook salmon (or any type of fish really) as it stays moist from being steamed in the parchment packet. After reading reviews, I made 2 separate packets and cooked the fish in one and the asparagus in the other, totally divine and both were done to perfection. The only thing I left out of in the ingredient list was the soy sauce as I do not keep any in the house (never use it, too much sodium), and I can not see the difference a 1/2 tsp would be in the overall recipe anyway. Definitely a nice way to serve salmon, albiet with the mayo, one that shouldn't be served too often as the fat content is high...but a nice treat once in a while :) Thanks for the recipe Lizzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This recipe was one that I used for a dinner party a few months ago and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved about how moist the salmon was and how tasty it was. My husband later requested it as his birthday dinner, he liked it that much. The first time I made it, I used regular mustard and a small amount of Tabasco for the hot sauce, but found it a bit vinegary. I also, personally, found the asparagus to be a bit undercooked (as did several of the guests). The second time around, I used Sriracha hot sauce and it was the perfect flavor for the mayo filling. I also cooked the asparagus separately and wrapped the fillets in phyllo instead of parchment (I was out of paper and had the phyllo on hand). That was a brilliant idea. It worked much the same way as the parchment paper, but was edible and provided a nice crunchy texture to the salmon. Definitely something I will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was very good. I'm not normally a fan of fish, but the flavor of this dish was great. I didn't quite understand why you'd cut the parchment into a heart first, so I just used it as a square that I rolled/folded into a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Absolutely excellent and very easy to make. Thank you so much for this recipe. Husband loved it and even our toddler ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Fresh herbs and asparagus made this salmon dish healthy and delicious. We used frozen salmon fillets with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was really good. Altho I will not put asparagus in it next time. It tasted fine but it went soggy. The skin from the salmon also stuck to the asparagus, making it hard to eat. I dont know if people usually eat the skin on fish but I definitly do not. I also had to cook mine a little longer then stated. I had to make my own pockets with parchment paper because I did not understand the "heart" technique. Dispite all my complaints, I will be making this again, and again. Very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This turned out well! Only issue was the mayo, the taste of it seemed somewhat off with everything else. Might try experimenting with a replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Good dish. Would be five stars if the portion to sauce was more accurate. Even halving the sauce I had too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States