Paradise Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
My friends enjoyed this pie a lot. When making it, I ran into a couple of problems. The 9" shell I used was too small! I had so much pumpkin filling left over. So, I grabbed more cream cheese, and made another 9" pie and 12 little tarts. This allowed me to use up all the pumpkin mix. I also found that it was best to let the cheesecake part sit for a little bit before pouring the pumpkin over top. One comment I received from my friends was that the topping was really sweet. Might try cutting back on the sugar next time. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Hubby loves his pumpkin pie...so I decided to try another recipe other than my regular. This turned out very good. We both liked this...I actually liked this one more than the other one I had been using. Hubby still likes the other one better, hence the 4 star rating. Will make again....with the family and see what they think. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This is delicious and has a great appearance. I don't know why more people haven't tried this. Maybe the ingredients or steps seem overwhelming, but it really is easy and fast. I used a ready-made crust and mixed each filling layer in my food processor. I brought it to work to share with my co-workers and everyone loves it. It's delicious and the topping adds so much flavor and texture. I am making another one tonight to share with family. Thank you for a really easy and delicious recipe that looks much harder than it actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This was a delicious pie! I divided the entire recipe between two pre-made frozen 9" pie shells. This gave the perfect amount to each pie, and allowed both of the pies to cook evenly. The only thing I would change on this pie is the amount of topping. I thought that it was a little heavy. Next time I make it, I will probably cut the topping amount in 1/2. Thanks a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I tried this recipe for a family Thanksgiving dinner. It was a great success. The recipe is easy (I used a purchased pie shell), easy (used a food processor to mix each layer), and delicious. My preparation time from gathering the ingredients to putting it in the oven was probably 15 minutes. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a fun pie to make. I used a extra -serving graham cracker crust(pre-made) . I can see how you could easily make 2 pies with this recipe if you were using a regular crust. I love the taste of graham cracker with cheese cake, so I substituted that in place of a regular pie crust. I also added a little more sugar to the cream cheese mixture. The pie turn out beautifully. The topping could easily be cut in half. I would recommend shortening the broiling for the topping. I almost burned mine after 1 1/2 minutes. Keep a close eye on it! I put it in the refrigerator to chill after cooling. I think you will be impressed with the taste and presentation of this yummy pie. It has a gourmet appeal to it when completed and it really doesn't take a lot of effort. Thanks for sharing such a special recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is the best pumpkin pie we ever had! Everyone in my family loved it. It was so good my husband was braging about it to evryone and my father in law called me asking me to make them one too because he heared it was so delicious. I made my own grham cracker crust and pre baked it. I feared it would be too hard by the time the pie was done baking, but it was perfect and kept the nice crunch for a couple of days (we finished if by the second day). I put the pie in the refrigeratore before adding the pumpkin filling, so the cheese cake will harden and won't float up. I would definitly make this one again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for the first time several years ago, and it's now a staple on our holiday table. I will be making it this year with a sugar substitute for the diabetics in our family - they are always missing out on the "fun" foods and I find that Splenda works well in custards and cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I havent baked in a while as I'm diabetic, and I've never really been a fan of Pumpkin pie, but I saw this recipe and gave it a shot. To begin with, I was using a deep dish 9 in plate and thought that it might need more than the recipe called for. I did move up the servings to 10, made my own graham cracker crust and that was the perfect ratio to go to. Now a few changes... I did not use real eggs, preferring to use EggBeaters instead. I did use Splenda instead of sugar and I used Smart Balance for the pecan topping, but used butter for the cheese layer and I did cut back on the Splenda for the pumpkin section as I had read that some reviewers had said the pumpkin was too sweet, so I cut it back by a quarter. I also adjusted the time to 75 minutes rather than the recommended 65 mins. All in all, I think it came out fantastic. One other thing I did was when I did the broil of the topping I just took out the rack on my double oven as the top oven is not that tall to get the pie 5 inches from the broiler and placed the pie on the floor of the top oven. It worked out fabulously and it did take three minutes on the dot in the broiler... I watched it every second it was in there through the window not wanting to have all my work ruined by this critical step. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was just ok. I made several different pumpkin pie recipes for Thanksgiving this year all from this site. Everyone agreed that this was good, definately not a bad pie, but was the least favorite of the ones I made. The one that everyone raved about was the Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States