Paradise Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made this one several times, and it's always a winner! One trick I learned to keep the layers separate is to pour your bottom layer into the pie crust first, then chill in the refrigerator for half an hour or so before adding the pumpkin layer. Also, as someone previously suggested, pour the pumpkin in over the back of a spoon. It comes out perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This type of pie has been a Thanksgiving staple in our family for many years. If you love pumpkin pie & cheesecake, like we do, you've got the best of both worlds in this recipe. A few hints to those who have had problems with this recipe. Make the pie in 2 steps, after putting the cream cheese layer in the shell, refrig. until you've mixed the pumpkin layer, it will firm up slightly, & lessen the chance of the layers mixing. Also, if you have the problem of the layers inverting, which our family has experienced in the past, we've figured out a definite culprit. DO NOT USE PUMPKIN PIE MIX IN THIS RECIPE. This is the canned pumpkin with spice already added to it, it will definitely flip-flop your layers! Try a slice with a dollop of whipped cream for that bit of extra sweetness! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I have made this pie for over 20 years when a neighbor made one. It has alway been a famil request. The trick to keeping the layered look is to pour the pumpkin mixture over the back of a large spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Everything turned out well until I had to pour the pumpkin mix in the pie shell. It mixed in with the cheesecake layer, therefore it didnt have the layered look and taste to it. Overall, I got good compliments on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERPARK253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really tasty and easy to make. I don't know if I did something wrong, but my bottom layer didn't stay on the bottom when I poured in the pumpkin filling. It pushed to the sides and bottom. I took a toothpick and swirled the colors together around the edges for a nice design and it looked great. It did make enough for two pies, I wish I had read the first review before I made it! I will make this pie again, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was really easy to make. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cloves and 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I also put 2 teaspoons of nutmeg and just poured the maple syrup into the pumpikin batter. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and doubled the vanilla (can never have too much vanilla!, what can I say southern families make everything spicier!) I did wait about 20 minutes before pouring the pumpkin onto the cream cheese it was well set by then. I used my cast iron pan for the pie and it came out lovely! Thanks for the recipe! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is absolutely delicious!! I made it for a party I went to and got rave reviews, and several people asked for the recipe! As for the layers combining, I had no problem with that, even though I forgot to refrigerate mine while making the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Pretty good. When I poured the pumpkin on top it swirled with the cheesecake below for a pleasing effect. The taste was good, but not special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toddville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner, everyone RAVED over it, and my husband who loves pumpkin pie, said this was the best pumpkin pie he'd ever had! I had to go home and make another one just for him! He ate every last piece, and now said that when I bake him a pumpkin pie, it has to be this one!! I now am requested to bring this for our Christmas dinner too! Thank you for a great recipe! However, I did alter it a bit too, I used all spice instead of each individual spice, I used one tsp of the allspice, and one tsp of cinnamon, and it still came out great! Also, it takes about and hour and a half to bake I found too. So, thanks again! I will use this for many years to come I'm sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA
Living In: Sodus Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have to admit I was disappointed. Not sure what I had expected, but this pie was nothing out of the ordinary - just some pumpkin pie atop cheesecake. Barely a quarter was eaten. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States