Paradise Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Very good. The cream cheese layer was a pleasant surprise to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
i really loved this recipe because it was fun and easy to make. i have already made it about 6 times. everyone loves to eat it, i also had alot of people ask for the recipe! i ( well you) got a lot of compliments. thank you very much. i am going to make it again today, for new years day.p.s. you have a great name for it, (paradise) i guess alot of people are attracted to it, especially when i live in hawaii. -alyssa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe has been a favorite of our family's for years. I was able to make two pies out of this recipe. I drizzled the maple syrup on top and also sprinkled crushed pecans on top! This is by far the best pumpkin pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really tasty and easy to make. I don't know if I did something wrong, but my bottom layer didn't stay on the bottom when I poured in the pumpkin filling. It pushed to the sides and bottom. I took a toothpick and swirled the colors together around the edges for a nice design and it looked great. It did make enough for two pies, I wish I had read the first review before I made it! I will make this pie again, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is one great pumpkin pie and very easy to make! I used a graham cracker/chopped pecan crust (see Carolyn Rothwell's Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie in this section) and it was great. Might just be my oven, but it took less than an hour to bake -- more like 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Everything turned out well until I had to pour the pumpkin mix in the pie shell. It mixed in with the cheesecake layer, therefore it didnt have the layered look and taste to it. Overall, I got good compliments on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERPARK253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have to admit I was disappointed. Not sure what I had expected, but this pie was nothing out of the ordinary - just some pumpkin pie atop cheesecake. Barely a quarter was eaten. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I have made this pie for over 20 years when a neighbor made one. It has alway been a famil request. The trick to keeping the layered look is to pour the pumpkin mixture over the back of a large spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This type of pie has been a Thanksgiving staple in our family for many years. If you love pumpkin pie & cheesecake, like we do, you've got the best of both worlds in this recipe. A few hints to those who have had problems with this recipe. Make the pie in 2 steps, after putting the cream cheese layer in the shell, refrig. until you've mixed the pumpkin layer, it will firm up slightly, & lessen the chance of the layers mixing. Also, if you have the problem of the layers inverting, which our family has experienced in the past, we've figured out a definite culprit. DO NOT USE PUMPKIN PIE MIX IN THIS RECIPE. This is the canned pumpkin with spice already added to it, it will definitely flip-flop your layers! Try a slice with a dollop of whipped cream for that bit of extra sweetness! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was really easy to make. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cloves and 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I also put 2 teaspoons of nutmeg and just poured the maple syrup into the pumpikin batter. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and doubled the vanilla (can never have too much vanilla!, what can I say southern families make everything spicier!) I did wait about 20 minutes before pouring the pumpkin onto the cream cheese it was well set by then. I used my cast iron pan for the pie and it came out lovely! Thanks for the recipe! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States