Paprika Chicken with Sour Cream Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I omitted the flour and increased the spices. After browning the chicken I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 C of chicken stock before adding the soup and onions. I also added a can of petite diced tomatoes to make this dish more like chicken paprikash without the work. It waws delicious. Thanks for the great recipe. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I like this recipe...it's yummy, creamy, and easy. I prefer using chicken tenderloins in a lot of my chicken recipes (about 2 tenderloins= 1 breast). IMO, they're more tender and easier to cook. I like to bread my chicken...dredge in egg, flour/paprika, etc mixture then let cook for a while in the sauce. Good with noodles, IMO :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLM216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had to use golden mushroom soup instead of crm of chicken b/c I was out, but it tasted fine and I used the gravy on mashed potatoes (cheddar and green onion). Easy-- would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My husband loved this! Told me to make sure and keep the recipe. I took the advice of another reviewer and used TBSP instead of TSP for measurements and it worked great. I sauteed sliced fresh portobello mushrooms and diced Spanish onion in butter before adding soup mixture. The chicken came out very moist and flavorful, and the sauce was perfect. Served over Jasmine rice. Delicious! Would also be great served over egg noodles or angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteadyredhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RockinRob
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I thought this was very tasty & super quick to pull together during a work day evening, the sauce is very thick and makes more then enough for 2 people- this is my 2nd time making this dish & will keep in my rotation for an easy chicken breast dinner during a month's rotation. I thought it was tasty but after reading other people's comments, I doubled the indgredients b/c we like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I added 1 clove of garlic with the green onions (in addition to the garlic powder already in the recipe). My husband loved this and thought it tasted like KFC's original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I altered this recipe a bit. So I'm going to give you my take on the altered version. First, I didn't see the need for the flour, so I skipped it. I think that is where a lot of the other reviews stating blandness have stemmed. Instead I put the seasonings directly on the chicken. For seasonings I used garlic powder, red pepper and paprika as the recipe stated but I omitted the black pepper while adding seasoning salt and onion powder. I sliced my chicken breasts (3 breasts) thin and rubbed the seasonings in to coat then browned the chicken in the skillet with the butter. Once cooked through, I set the chicken aside and poured about 1/4 cup white wine in the skillet and loosened all the goodness in the pan. Afterward I added a 1/2 teaspoon of fresh minced garlic, the soup and about a cup of mushrooms. Let them simmer for a few minutes, then I added the sour cream (Only two tablespoons of sour cream not a full container) and the chicken back to the pan and let simmer for about five or so more minutes, just until heated through. I served it with seasoned rice and mixed veggies. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This wasn't flavorful enough, especially with the amount of fat in the recipe. I don't think I would make again. For those making it, though, I would advise adding more salt to the coating. I even doubled the spices and it was still too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This dish was great and we will probably make it again. However, it was a little spicy for me. Also, it should be served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Easy and tastes great. I only had cream of celery so I used that - increased garlic powder and paprika, otherwise prepared as directed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States