Paprika Chicken with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Three stars as written since it is clearly lacking in much seasoning, however, with a little tweaking this is easily a five star dish. I sauteed the mushrooms and onion first (I used shallots and added a couple shots of Worcestershire sauce) then removed that from the pan and set it aside while I cooked the chicken (I used turkey cutlets) which I had dredged in flour before sauteeing. Once nicely browned I removed the meat and deglazed the pan with all those wonderful browned bits with chicken broth and white wine. I let that reduce to about half its volume, then swirled in a few pats of butter. I served the cutlets over fresh sauteed spinach, topped them with the mushroom/shallot mixture, then poured that luscious sauce over it all. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Will definitely make this again. Was very please with how quick & easy it was to make. Used bottled crushed garlic on chicken and in sauce and used frozen mushrooms(all I had). Will use a larger "sweet" onion and fresh wild mushrooms next time. Also added a couple of generous glugs of a dry white wine during cooking and before serving also added a bit more butter and let sauce reduce. Served with Fettuccine Florentine, mixed spring greens and garlic rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought this recipe was fantastic as written. Thank you Marlana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This recipe was SOoooo good. I went heavy on the spices since I read a couple people thought it was bland. Also, I was a little scared by how the "sauce" looked... sort of like pizza grease. SO, I added about 1/2 C. cream to the sauce, and it was a beautiful thing. Served over Bowties. :) Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellygrrrl
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great recipe - however I did tweak it a little bit. I followed the general flow of the recipe but I added: lightly floured the chicken breasts before saute - then sprinkled the paprika, salt and pepper on top while cooking. Once the breasts were cooked, and the mushrooms and shallots (replaced onions) were soft, I removed the chicken and set aside. I deglazed the pan with a little more butter and then my key ingredient - one can of condensed cream of mushroom soup. I added 3 tbsp on water and cooked for 3 minutes. Viola. Lovely recipe - a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Very good! I used fresh minced garlic in place of the powder based on the advice of other reviewers. All the flavours from the different ingredients blend so well together! My boyfriend is easily tired of chicken but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was a enjoyable dish. I did make a couple of modifications based on other comments. I used about 2 1/2 tsp of paprika and I added about 1/3 cup of cream at the end. I will make this dish again. However, the next time I will add more cream (1/2-2/3 cup) to make more of a sauce. I served with spinach and buttered whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty dish. Is easy to make and pleasing to the eye. I served with Quinoa as the side and a simple tossed salad. Will make this a regular on our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve-mac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very tasty! I cut down the butter by using butter flavored cooking spray to start the chicken, then added butter when doing the vegetable. It still made a sauce. I tried using a Ziploc bag to coat the chicken, but found too much of the spices landed on the first piece. Definitely will just sprinkle it next time. I sliced the leftover chicken and used it for a salad the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I served this over angel hair pasta which I very lightly buttered. The mushrooms were so good! But I did sprinkle some onion powder in with them so they wouldn't taste as buttery. I liberally sprinkled the chicken with the spices, so no problem with blandness. Used extra mushrooms too. Served with hot, crispy whole wheat rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States