Paper-Wrapped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sacto ThreeSixty
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
just finished testing it. I cooked them in the oven rather than the oil. 350 degrees for 30 minutes. But my chicken breasts were still partially frozen. I also used cream sherry instead of wine. I've never made better more moist tender chicken than this. See my two photos above. When you make this in the oven you can tell they're done by the way the foil packets crackle when you take them out. I used sesame oil in the marinade, so that was the only oil involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
loved this recipes will use every time we have chinnese nite definatly worth the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I can't eat anything fried right now, but the flavors seemed so good, I wanted to see if I couldn't adapt this into something I can eat. I followed the recipe as written until the step where the chicken is wrapped in foil. Here I substituted parchment paper, putting 4 pieces of chicken on each square and a drizzle of the marinade and a few slices of scallion. I folded my packets and I baked them, on a rack in a shallow pan at 375F for about 20 minutes. 15 minutes would likely have been long enough, but we enjoyed the flavor and texture of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
As everyone stated it was a little time consuming but the outcome was great. I made my own teriyaki marinade but paired the chicken with spinach and vegetable rice. It was even better the second time since it was dinner last night and lunch today. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I wasn't sure how this was going to come out, but it was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as stated (I made my own teriyaki for the marinade). I did add two pieces of chicken per package, used heavy duty foil, and crimped and sealed them VERY tightly. They were perfectly cooked in 4 minutes. I didn't have a problem with smoking at all. The chicken was very moist and tender. I laid out (on a large platter) the chicken packages, lettuce leaves, grated carrot and scallion and let everyone make lettuce wraps. This does take a little time (wrapping the foil packs) so I enlisted the help of my husband. Fabulous chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made these for lunch today and my family loved them! I increased the red pepper flakes in half and left out the pepper flakes in the other half for the kids. My kids are super picky and they ate every one I made, even the ones with the extra spice! I served with simple fried rice and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I wrote the recipe...if you were to cook these in water, the marinade will leak out...if you cook these in water, you will wind up with watered down chicken. These are called paper-wrapped because the original recipe for these were done in parchment paper and they were folded elaborately into envelopes. This is a traditional Asian dish as far the technique goes, I've changed the marinade up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were tasty little morsels but a bit time consuming to wrap the chicken. I added a pinch of five spice powder and a teaspoon of toasted sesame oil to the marinade. The marinade was so darned easy which is a plus. I had to make another change because I didn't have enough oil to fry these. I put them in a single layer on a aluminum foil lined jelly roll pan and baked them at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. The eating was the fun part. Yum! Will def make these when I do an asian menu to impress my guests. Thanks for sharing WitchyWoman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Like it a lot. Easy and delicious. Made some more of the marinade, added some sesame oil and rice vinegar and used as a dressing for a simple Eastern salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States