Papaya Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This Brushetta was colorful and so tasty. Just prior to serving I drained some of the excess mositure. It was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Definitely a different take on one of my favourites, bruschetta, but I found it to be a little too sweet. I love papayas, but the dressing ruined it for me. The sauce went all runny, and by the time it was served, I had soggy bread. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I HATE papaya, but we got some beautiful papayas as part of a Harry & David gift and I didn't want to waste them. This was surprisingly good! The tomato and vinegar offset the sweetness nicely. I recommend starting with no sugar, but add gradually to taste. I was also very unsure of what the papaya seeds would add-- I didn't know you could eat them. Our learning: yes, they're great as used here, but don't eat them alone! ;-) My daughter & I each crunched one before adding to the recipe. Don't try this at home. A little like crunching a black peppercorn. But in the blender as part of the dressing, they add a very unusual peppery flavor, like cracked pepper. For those who had problems with watery-ness: brush your baguette slices with a touch of olive oil (or spray lightly) and bake 5 min so they're good & crunchy, and definitely drain the salsa before spooning on. Thanks for a unique, light app that will be used several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The original idea is a good one, but like many others I modified a bit. I don't eat processed or cooked food much, so I used a good quality organic olive oil, no sugar (addictive and highly processed), lettuce instead of bread (I am still looking for a good raw bread substitute and lettuce don't get soggy), and added dates to sweeten the sauce. It is true that a ripe papaya can make all the difference. Choose one that is mostly yellow, soft but not mushy, and heavy. Fresh ingredients are always best! I used basil, tomato and papaya from my garden. With these adjustments, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seamist7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I have made it many times now and my family and friends love it. I add avacados which is good for more color and tastes good. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Delicious...I followed the recipe except I didn't use all the sugar. I took it to a party and it was a hit..Very healthy, perfect for a summer crowd pleaser.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was really yummy. I am going to rate it 5 stars even though I changed an ingredient (ok two). I didn't have any red wine vinegar so I used strawberry vinegrette and I used olive oil instead. Even if I would have followed it, it would have been just as yummy- so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent; I used half the sugar and drained before serving and it was perfect. I halved the recipe and still had plenty for 8 people, unless this were a whole meal I think the portions are a bit off. Would be great with mango too instead of the papaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous. It bugs me when people rate recipes but have essentially changed the original, but I must admit that I subbed mango for the papaya because that's what I had. It was wonderful on bread BUT the next day we had it with grilled salmon! Amazing combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States