Papaya Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very good. For my tastes, next time I'll double the red pepper and red/green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Catered a mixer with this recipe. They had a very small budget ad I was looking for a recipe which was low on cost but still impressive. Bruschetta usually fits the bill for those requirements but I wanted to do something a little different than the norm. This worked perfectly, guests loved it, great for summertime serving. I doubled the recipe but only used 5 tomatoes. I think if you used the full amount the flavor of the papaya would have been overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I have made it many times now and my family and friends love it. I add avacados which is good for more color and tastes good. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The original idea is a good one, but like many others I modified a bit. I don't eat processed or cooked food much, so I used a good quality organic olive oil, no sugar (addictive and highly processed), lettuce instead of bread (I am still looking for a good raw bread substitute and lettuce don't get soggy), and added dates to sweeten the sauce. It is true that a ripe papaya can make all the difference. Choose one that is mostly yellow, soft but not mushy, and heavy. Fresh ingredients are always best! I used basil, tomato and papaya from my garden. With these adjustments, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seamist7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I HATE papaya, but we got some beautiful papayas as part of a Harry & David gift and I didn't want to waste them. This was surprisingly good! The tomato and vinegar offset the sweetness nicely. I recommend starting with no sugar, but add gradually to taste. I was also very unsure of what the papaya seeds would add-- I didn't know you could eat them. Our learning: yes, they're great as used here, but don't eat them alone! ;-) My daughter & I each crunched one before adding to the recipe. Don't try this at home. A little like crunching a black peppercorn. But in the blender as part of the dressing, they add a very unusual peppery flavor, like cracked pepper. For those who had problems with watery-ness: brush your baguette slices with a touch of olive oil (or spray lightly) and bake 5 min so they're good & crunchy, and definitely drain the salsa before spooning on. Thanks for a unique, light app that will be used several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was really yummy. I am going to rate it 5 stars even though I changed an ingredient (ok two). I didn't have any red wine vinegar so I used strawberry vinegrette and I used olive oil instead. Even if I would have followed it, it would have been just as yummy- so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent; I used half the sugar and drained before serving and it was perfect. I halved the recipe and still had plenty for 8 people, unless this were a whole meal I think the portions are a bit off. Would be great with mango too instead of the papaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous. It bugs me when people rate recipes but have essentially changed the original, but I must admit that I subbed mango for the papaya because that's what I had. It was wonderful on bread BUT the next day we had it with grilled salmon! Amazing combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Definitely a different take on one of my favourites, bruschetta, but I found it to be a little too sweet. I love papayas, but the dressing ruined it for me. The sauce went all runny, and by the time it was served, I had soggy bread. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Fantastic recipe and taste even better the next day. I skipped the papaya seeds all together, and reduced the oil to 2 TBS of olive oil. Served half as a cold salsa with tortilla chips and the other half lightly toasted on baguette slices. Great warm or cold. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States