Papaya Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very good. For my tastes, next time I'll double the red pepper and red/green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Catered a mixer with this recipe. They had a very small budget ad I was looking for a recipe which was low on cost but still impressive. Bruschetta usually fits the bill for those requirements but I wanted to do something a little different than the norm. This worked perfectly, guests loved it, great for summertime serving. I doubled the recipe but only used 5 tomatoes. I think if you used the full amount the flavor of the papaya would have been overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I have made it many times now and my family and friends love it. I add avacados which is good for more color and tastes good. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The original idea is a good one, but like many others I modified a bit. I don't eat processed or cooked food much, so I used a good quality organic olive oil, no sugar (addictive and highly processed), lettuce instead of bread (I am still looking for a good raw bread substitute and lettuce don't get soggy), and added dates to sweeten the sauce. It is true that a ripe papaya can make all the difference. Choose one that is mostly yellow, soft but not mushy, and heavy. Fresh ingredients are always best! I used basil, tomato and papaya from my garden. With these adjustments, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seamist7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I HATE papaya, but we got some beautiful papayas as part of a Harry & David gift and I didn't want to waste them. This was surprisingly good! The tomato and vinegar offset the sweetness nicely. I recommend starting with no sugar, but add gradually to taste. I was also very unsure of what the papaya seeds would add-- I didn't know you could eat them. Our learning: yes, they're great as used here, but don't eat them alone! ;-) My daughter & I each crunched one before adding to the recipe. Don't try this at home. A little like crunching a black peppercorn. But in the blender as part of the dressing, they add a very unusual peppery flavor, like cracked pepper. For those who had problems with watery-ness: brush your baguette slices with a touch of olive oil (or spray lightly) and bake 5 min so they're good & crunchy, and definitely drain the salsa before spooning on. Thanks for a unique, light app that will be used several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was really yummy. I am going to rate it 5 stars even though I changed an ingredient (ok two). I didn't have any red wine vinegar so I used strawberry vinegrette and I used olive oil instead. Even if I would have followed it, it would have been just as yummy- so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent; I used half the sugar and drained before serving and it was perfect. I halved the recipe and still had plenty for 8 people, unless this were a whole meal I think the portions are a bit off. Would be great with mango too instead of the papaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous. It bugs me when people rate recipes but have essentially changed the original, but I must admit that I subbed mango for the papaya because that's what I had. It was wonderful on bread BUT the next day we had it with grilled salmon! Amazing combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Definitely a different take on one of my favourites, bruschetta, but I found it to be a little too sweet. I love papayas, but the dressing ruined it for me. The sauce went all runny, and by the time it was served, I had soggy bread. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Fantastic recipe and taste even better the next day. I skipped the papaya seeds all together, and reduced the oil to 2 TBS of olive oil. Served half as a cold salsa with tortilla chips and the other half lightly toasted on baguette slices. Great warm or cold. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States