Papas Rellenas (Fried Stuffed Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I tried this a while back and was very happy with the recipe.The only thing I did different was I used cheddar mashed potatoes that I had leftover after making perogies and found this recipe to use them up.Thanks for this recipe it was easy and tasty, a budget friendly fun dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars just for the yummy sound of the recipe as I have not tried it yet. I do want to know if you could just mix the meat mixture with the potato mixture and then coat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Serve with Sriracha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My husband said " these were better than his Abuelo" thanks for the fantastic recipe. First time trying this and the directions made it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Love the recipe.... I did season the meat, potatoes and the eggs.. added a few extras including a harbanero pepper to the meat for more of a kick. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
everyone liked them, would make a sauce with them next time and add a little more salt. going to try different stuffing's with them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Drexler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My wife said these came out great better than the ones from Porto's in Glendale. I added extra salt to the potatoes and semi-froze the meat in mini muffin pans then put two meat blobs together and covered in potato. Then rolled in egg and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Photo by Hgarcia
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This worked out perfectly and taste the same as the true Cuban restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Every Cuban restaurant in my area has stuffed potato balls, and this one really tastes authentic. There definitely was a preparation learning curve for me as far as stuffing the potatoes. When I finished, I had left over bread crumbs, beef filling, and too many eggs. I used a mashed potato scoop, cut the potatoes in half, stuffed one side with the meat, added the other side and squeezed it into a ball. My potato balls needed more meat stuffing, and next time, I will add filling to each half, and then press together to seal the potato balls. Also, in the future, I will start with 2 eggs, and 1 cup of bread crumbs; you always can add more if necessary. On the positive side, they tasted wonderful, and I definitely will make again. I made these 3 days ago, froze them, defrosted today, deep fried this evening, and they turned out great. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is hot sauce, and these potato balls always are served with hot sauce on the side, so be sure to put your favorite hot sauce on the table. Thanks alu1977, these are the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States